Nina June To Release Global Debut Album: ‘Bon Voyage’ Out March 23rd

Nina June will release her global debut album ‘Bon Voyage’ on March 23rd.  The record is the result of a 3 year long journey that began in a home studio in Amsterdam and went through France and Spain on a pilgrimage and ended in London with world class producer Tim Bran.  The first singles ‘For Love’, ‘We Watched It All Come Down’ and ‘When We Fall’ have garnered more than 5 million streams so far.

Bon Voyage is about letting go, making choices and staying faithful to yourself. The eleven songs were produced by Nina and her musical partner in crime Lieuwe Roonder. Together they combined organical elements with modern beats and synths. To elevate the songs Nina approached producer Tim Bran (known for his work with Paul McCartney, London Grammar and Birdy) on Facebook. A small week later she was in his studio in London.

Nina was inspired by the cinematic compositions courtesy of Rhye, Michael Nyman (The Piano) and Thomas Newman (American Beauty). The songs became the soundtrack of her 1000 km long pilgrimage through France and Spain, known as the Camino de Santiago. “The songs on Bon Voyage are about the search that my generation must undertake, to look for meaning. We are a generation of ‘non-believers’. Our future is makeable, so we’re told. At the same time depression is at an all time high under young people. I walked the ‘Camino de Santiago’ to find out what drives me and other people, and in the end what makes us happy”, Nina says.

The first song Nina released was ‘For Love’, without the backing of a label or management. It was streamed more than 2 million times on Spotify and added by 25.000 people to their personal playlists. The other songs Nina released were received in the same manner, international blogs loved them and they were synced to national and international movies and tv-shows.

‘Till Dawn’, the last single released to promote the album, was added to the Spotify New Music Friday playlist in The Netherlands, Sweden, Norway and Iceland. National Dutch radio channel Radio 2 added it to their playlist as well.

Listen to ‘Till Dawn on YouTube

Bon Voyage Tracklisting:

1.  Out To Sea

2.  For Love

3.  Mirror Walls

4.  Daffodils

5.  Till Dawn

6.  Sleeping Soldiers

7.  Wanderers

8.  We Watched It All Come Down

9.  If We Never Go

10. When We Fall

11. Where The Angels

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also


Exciting newcomers Dear Sunday have today announced their sparkling, psychedelic new single Teleport, a sweet, glistening, confessional track that …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.