Cloud Castle Lake Announce Debut Album “Malingerer.” Stream Album Title Track Today

Dublin four-piece Cloud Castle Lake today announce the release of their long-anticipated debut album Malingerer on April 20th via Bright Antenna Records. The eight-track album was produced by Rob Kirwan (Hozier, PJ Harvey) and is a glorious statement of intent from an incredibly ambitious and extraordinary band. To mark the announce, the band are streaming the dynamic and cinematic album title track, listen HERE.

Speaking of the track, Daniel McAuley says, “Malingerer started out as a recording of Brendan J just messing around on a piano through a cool echo effect. There was a mood to it that was instantly very inspiring. As we fleshed it out into a song we constantly referred back to the early recordings to make sure we maintained that feeling. One of the reasons it has such a bonkers structure is that we wanted each section to flow into the next and progress without losing that initial spark. A big goal of the album was to get closer to our most honest and original sound together. We consider it the one that best articulates that. I did that textbook thing and went off to a remote cabin to try write. It was in the middle of nowhere in Donegal, no running water or electricity and at the tail end of a January storm so I went a little bit crazy there and the lyrics absorbed a lot of that.”

The release of Malingerer follows a recent 5-city North American tour and two singles from the album, the rousing “Twins” described by Stereogum as featuring “their signature brand of art-rock high drama, with post-Radiohead falsetto stylings buoyed by grand orchestral instrumentation toward a sort of heavy-hearted euphoria,” and “Bonfire,” which was described by Clash as “remarkable”.

As well as preparing their new album, the band also recently composed an original score for Ballet Átha Cliath, a beautiful short film produced and directed by Howard Jones and choreographed by Irish ballerina, Zoë Ashe-Browne. The film, shot over the course of one day in August of last year, uses site-specific dance performance to create a visual love letter to the city of Dublin. Watch it HERE.

Equal parts pastoral folk and soaring post-rock crescendos, Cloud Castle Lake comprises of Daniel McAuleyBrendan William JenkinsonRory O’Connor and Brendan Doherty and often features additional collaborative musicians. Hailing from Dublin, the band has supported touring acts such asGlasserLisa Hannigan and Nigel Godrich’s Ultraísta.

Malingerer – Tracklist
1. Twins
2. Bonfire
3. Malingerer
4. Genuflect
5. Fern
6. A Monument
7. Two Birds
8. Koi Pond

Pre-order the album HERE

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Greek Singer-Songwriter Johnny Labelle Announces New Album XVIII, Shares two Singles (RIYL: Richard Hawley, Scott Walker)

Greek singer-songwriter Johnny Labelle has announced a new album called XVIII. It’s out December 4 via …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.