PREMIERE: Sofia Härdig delivers lo-fi post-punk on ‘Let Me Fall’

Sofia Härdig’s new single “Let Me Fall”, from the upcoming album “Changing The Order” is crafted from new wave, electronica-influenced layered synths, amongst other live instruments, and powerful vocals. Championed by Belle and Sebastian’s Stevie Jackson, Sofia has worked with major Swedish artists including Grammy Award winners The Hellacopters and bob hund. Furthermore, she has collaborated with Yoshimi from Japanese noise-rockersBoredoms and the alternative indie band Free Kitten. Sofia’s experimental nature shines through with her new material that blends new wave and electronic influences.

“Let Me Fall” is a thickly textured, four-to-the-floor synth-focused electronica anthem. Sofia repeatedly sings ‘infatuation’ – each syllable on beat, but reverberating around the track, creating sonic space, drawing vocal influence from 90s house music. Deviating heavily from “Illuminate”, “Let Me Fall” features synth arpeggios throughout as the main focal point of the song. “Let Me Fall” can be described as fitting with synth-influenced new wave, comparable to Depeche Mode or New Order but the fact that the track draws more influence from 90s dance music makes it unique and a stand-out track.

‘I laid down the bass line for this song using a borrowed, broken, hopeless, but fine old synth during a tour in England. I continued building ‘Let Me Fall’ with other synths and programming, and then brought these recordings with me on tour and added recordings with other musicians I met. Amongst them were a classical pianist in Berlin, a synth player in Copenhagen and a cellist from the opera. John Essing (bob hund) and I recorded the guitar parts in a shed – these parts were added also. I smashed the new recordings into pieces and rebuilt them; deconstructed and reconstructed.  At the end, I brought in Jari Haapalainen to produce the song. The bass line from the old, broken synth I used in London, is the main focal point of ‘Let Me Fall’ – a song from London, Berlin, Copenhagen, Stockholm, and Malmö.’ – Sofia Härdig


18 April Stockholm, Fylkingen

20 April Malmö, Rundgång

21 April Kiel, Prinz Willy

25 April Berlin, Ä

26 April Bremen, elo ba

2 May Berlin, Schocoladen

16 June Hammenhög, Garageprojektet

1 Sept Stockholm, Landet

TBA Copenhagen, Vega






About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Synymata Tackles Heartache With Tender Melodic Bass Single “Where Does Love Go” for Heaven Sent

Synymata makes his debut appearance on SLANDER’s Heaven Sent label with an enrapturing melodic dubstep …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.