Amidst a momentous road to the 2017 GRAMMYs — where his soulful opus ‘Gumbo’ earned him nominations for Best R&B Album and Best R&B Song (“First Began”) — PJ Morton sought to challenge himself. He linked up with a 22-piece supergroup — including the Matt Jones Orchestra, BJ The Chicago Kid, Anthony Hamilton, The Hamiltones, Lecrae, Keyon Harold and more — and packed them into a fabled Manhattan recording studio to reimagine ‘Gumbo’ into a sweeping and stylish orchestral vision. Today, he announces the March 9th release of ‘Gumbo Unplugged,’ a live album and film tracked in front of dozens of lucky fans in one seamless take at Power Station Studios on January 26, 2017.

Watch and share their symphonic rendition of Bee Gees’ “How Deep Is Your Love” at UPROXX, who call it a “soulful, funky rendition”: http://uproxx.it/2sEiLkn

Nearly 1.3 million Facebook users have already laid eyes on the album’s recording process through Okayplayer’s live stream. However, like ‘Gumbo,’ ‘Gumbo Unplugged’ will see its official release through PJ’s own Morton Records. The new company is Morton’s self-launched label that he brought to his native New Orleans as part of his vision to create a modern-day Motown, developing and exporting local talent.

‘Gumbo’ heralded Morton’s 2016 return to New Orleans, escaping Los Angeles to free his creativity and embrace his roots. The decidedly political, but reassuring tone of ‘Gumbo’ earned praise from NPR Music, Billboard, BET, MTV, and Essence, among others. The Fader says it blends “old and new school with elements of black church music to remind us to remain calm amidst chaos and uncertainty.”

PJ, who has moonlighted as Maroon 5’s keyboardist and Solange’s music director, recently appeared on The Tonight Show, Jimmy Kimmel Live!, and the NBA’s MLK Day matchup. He is already deep into an eventful 2018, with a solo tour, international Maroon 5 dates, and more new music on the way.

‘Gumbo Unplugged’ Tracklist:
1. Sticking To My Guns
2. Claustrophobic feat. Keyon Harrold
3. Religion feat. Lecrae
4. How Deep Is Your Love
5. First Began
6. Go Thru Your Phone
7. They Gon’ Wanna Come
8. Alright
9. Everything’s Gonna Be Alright Feat. BJ the Chicago Kid and The Hamiltones

PJ Morton On The Web:
Website: http://www.pjmortonmusic.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/thepjmorton
Twitter: https://twitter.com/PJMORTON
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/pjmorton

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

PREMIERE: Enfant Terrible Release New Single “Wait With Me”

Enfant Terrible are an indie Alt-Folk band based in Devon, UK. They blend guitars, harp, …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.