Home / News / Post-modern indie band Midcentury premieres new music video, ‘Fallen’

Post-modern indie band Midcentury premieres new music video, ‘Fallen’

Austin-based indie rockers Midcenturypremiered the music video on Thursday, Feb. 8, for their single, “Fallen,” with Glide Magazine here. The music video was directed by Zachary Griggs and the track is the impetus for Midcentury.

“It was born out of some serious turmoil in my life, toxic relationships, continuous failures in my music career, and dramatic artistic changes,” says Bruce Allen Smith Jr. “Through all of this I was forced to confront major insecurities and hindrances in my life in order to make the choice: is this really who I am? Is this really what I want? ‘Fallen’ represents letting go, it represents acceptance of yourself and your faults, but at the same time learning to see the things that people take from you. Letting go of people that you love, of ideals that you cling to, letting go of controlling circumstance and people around you so that a real truth can exist.”

“Fallen” is the second single off Midcentury’s debut album, “Modern Nostalgia,”set to be released on Saturday, Feb. 17. There will be an official album release party on Saturday, Feb. 17, 2018 at Swan Dive, located at 615 Red River St., Austin, Texas 78701. More info and tickets for the album release show can be found at www.midcenturyband.com.

Midcentury is comprised of Bruce Allen Smith Jr. on lead vocals and guitar, Eric Harrison on the bass and vocals, Paul Murray on guitar, keys and vocals, Evan “Butch” Wade on the drums and Alex Chod contributing keys/synths and vocals. Midcentury’s first single, “Warrior,” was premiered by KUTX as Song of the Day on Thursday, Nov. 2, 2017 and you can listen to it by clicking here.

“Austin’s Midcentury may be fresh, but their members are veterans of the local music scene (namely yacht rock-esque outfit Wonderbitch),” said KUTX. “Their sound blends decades of intentional and unintentional influences, from contemporary notes by the Bright Light Social Hour, to Cut Copy, to classic rock with a hint of that ’80s sax je ne sais quoi, ultimately creating something fresh and totally their own. ‘Warrior’ is the group’s debut single and a brilliant display of the quartet’s proclivity for creating a sound that is as intricate as it is catchy. Blending some smokey, ’80s rock glory with a contemporary indie mood, ‘Warrior’ charges ahead with full ear worm status.”

Over the past two years, Midcentury has been reworking and refining their debut project, honing in on their production abilities and entertaining new techniques and methods while recording. The album is a unique, modern reinterpretation of ’80s pop, ’90s alternative and early 2000s indie post rock. And at the same time, it radiates with rhythmic funk and tinges of hip hop.

When asked about the title of the album, Midcentury says, “The commodification of nostalgia is used to manipulate society into thinking that things will never be as good as they were. It is the veil over our eyes that separates us from the time and place that we live, thus stripping us of the power that we inherently have to change the circumstances that shape the world.”

“The album is built to where each song is paired with another to showcase the duality of every choice, every circumstance in your life, every milestone that you have to pass,” says Bruce Allen Smith Jr. “They paint a picture as a whole of feeling powerless by the apathy of the modern world. Accepting that the fate of our generation is to never see the changes want, but we must continue to strive for them. Have faith in the passing of time.”


  1. Fallen

  2. Warrior

  3. Nah, Ima Stay Here

  4. World’s Apart

  5. Invoke

  6. Foul Play

  7. Push It Around

  8. Revolve

  9. Chariots

  10. Super Classic

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

YOUNG OTHER Releases Official Music Video for “Between The Few”

 Hard Alternative Rock Band YOUNG OTHER has released the official music video for the title track off …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.