PREMIERE: Fine China Release New Single “No Vibe”

Wrapping up our premiere Thursday, we are pleased to team up with Fine China for the release of their new single “No Vibe.”

About the song, the band comments:

No Vibe started as a simple drum machine beat and the two telecaster guitar parts that come in at the beginning of the song. I had written the chorus guitar parts several years back but never had a good place to land them, but when this track presented itself, they worked perfectly as the chorus. I’ve always loved early Cure tracks, where they just kind of go, and parts come in and out but they are more of a jam, and the dynamic parts and stops/starts are kept to a minimum, and so that is how this track evolved. One we started putting together the track list for the album, it became clear to me that No Vibe didn’t quite fit as an album track, but I liked it and it was a bit of an oddball arrangement for Fine China, which I liked, so we kept it as a B-Side. The production is a little rougher than the album tracks as well, as we recorded and mixed it all in my home studio, which I thought fit the song.

Fine China was formed in Phoenix in 1997. Soon after, they released their first 2 EP’s and a 7″ on So Cal indie label Velvet Blue Music. The band went on to tour extensively and to release 3 additional full length records on various labels until 2005. The most recent release, The Jaws of Life, received wide critical nods, and TV show placements.

In December of 2016 Jaws was re-issued on 12″ vinyl with a newly recorded bonus track (to coincide with a 10 year reunion show). Fine China has always been a guitar-driven, pop band at heart, and the new track did not disappoint. It was met with lots of applause and the vinyl quickly sold out.

Now twelve years after their last album, Fine China is back home with a full length recording for Velvet Blue Music, exactly twenty years after their first recordings for the same label ! This new batch of songs was recorded in songwriter Rob Withem’s studio over the past year, and were mixed by Bob Hoag, the band’s longtime producer and engineer, at Flying Blanket Recording in Mesa, AZ. The new full length, entitled Not Thrilled, is set for release on 2/23/18 and will contain 10 new new tracks, preceded by a 7″ single, You Are Not The Future, out January 19th with an additional 2 bonus tracks.

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Seraphina Simone closes 2020 with a double single release, ‘Skin’ and ‘Blue Devil’

It’s been a bumper year for London-based musician Seraphina Simone whose expansive indie-pop singles ‘Cherry …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.