Sonny Smith Announces New Tour Dates

Today, Sonny Smith, of Sonny And The Sunsets, announces new dates in support of his forthcoming album Rod For Your Love (Easy Eye Sound, March 2nd), with stops in cities including Chicago, San Francisco, Los Angeles and Portland (full dates below). Smith will also join fellow Easy Eye Sound label mates Dan Auerbach, Shannon & The Clams, and Robert Finley on the San Francisco dates of the “Easy Eye Sound Revue Tour,” on February 14th and 15th. Tickets for this tour are on sale now and you can find full information here.

Sonny Smith will release his tenth studio album, Rod For Your Love via Dan Auerbach’s new label, Easy Eye Sound, on March 2nd. The record, produced by The Black Keys front man at his Nashville studio, roots itself in old-school, guitar-driven rock & roll, and is equally built for the garage and the dance floor, with big-hearted melodies and thick harmonies. “I think a lot of albums are made in reaction to the one that came directly before,” says Smith, whose earlier recordings were released by labels like Fat Possum and Polyvinyl. “By the time we got to Nashville and began working with Dan, I was thinking ‘let’s just make a fun, guitar-driven record. I don’t want to have any extracurricular stuff here. I just want it to be really pure.’ Rod For Your Love is available for pre-order on CD, vinyl, and digitally here.

Recently, Sonny Smith debuted his new music video “Burnin’ Up” (feat. Angel Olsen) via Stereogum, who call it, “a twinkly, soulful duet with fellow old soul Angel Olsen.” Both the song and video for the second single prominently features Olsen, and the two swap harmonies throughout, turning the love song into a poignant conversation between partners. Smith also debuted the music video for Rod For Your Love’s first single, “Pictures of You,” directed by Ryan Daniel Browne via FLOOD Magazine, who say the song “suggests Black Lips more than Black Keys, as the jangling guitars and breezy melodies lift the peculiarly linear two-and-a-half minute track to heights previously unreached by Smith.” Watch “Pictures of You” here.

Rod For Your Love was recorded at the end of a cross-country tour, and features Smith and his band firing on all cylinders, their rough edges sanded down by weeks of nightly shows. Hearing that the Arcs, Auerbach’s side-project, had covered one of his own songs during their own tour, Smith reached out to the Black Keys singer. From there studio time was booked, and when Smith wound up finishing his countrywide tour in Nashville, he and his road band tracked the album at Auerbach’s studio. The result is a deeply personal album, filled with heart-of-sleeve songwriting, which shines a light on the songs and the band, without many overdubs or assorted clutter.

With songs that spin stories about loving, losing, and living in the modern world, it’s hard not to identify with songs like the title track — a sunny, simple declaration of Smith’s affection for a girl — and “Pictures of You,” which find him remembering a former flame by sifting through old photographs. On “Burnin’ Up,” he swaps harmonies with songwriter Angel Olsen, turning the love song into a conversation between partners. The goal with Smith’s latest was an album that felt both fresh and familiar at once, which nods to the past while still moving forward. With the release of Rod For Your Love Sonny Smith accomplishes just that.

For years, Sonny Smith has built his own brand of indie-folk and rock & roll, growing into a cult favorite along the way. To those who know his work, he’s an incredibly prolific creator, with a dozen albums to his name and a handful of related projects — including multiple stage plays and his nationally-recognized art installation, “100 Bands” — under his belt. A longtime fixture of San Francisco’s arts scene, he’s managed to fly just beneath the mainstream’s radar for decades, while still releasing a string of acclaimed records with labels like Fat Possum and Polyvinyl.

Rod For Your Love Track Listing

  1. Pictures of You

  2. Lost

  3. Adventures

  4. Slaves

  5. Live, Love and Be Free

  6. Rod for Your Love

  7. Burnin’ Up

  8. Refugees

  9. More Bad Times

  10. Bores Me to Tears

Sonny Smith Tour Dates Tickets at
January 18 /// Chicago, IL /// Tomorrow Never Knows Festival @ Schuba’s
February 2 /// San Francisco, CA /// Gallery 16 (As Sonny And The Sunsets)
February 14 /// San Francisco, CA /// The Fillmore (Easy Eye Sound Revue Tour)
February 15 /// San Francisco, CA /// The Fillmore (Easy Eye Sound Revue Tour)
March 2 /// Los Angeles, CA /// The Resident
March 3 /// San Francisco, CA /// The Chapel
March 25 /// Boise, ID /// Treefort Festival @ Linen Building
March 29 /// Portland, OR /// Mississippi Studios
March 30 /// Seattle, WA /// The High Dive
March 31 /// Everett, WA /// Fisherman’s Village Music Festival

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

TWICE Releases “I CAN’T STOP ME” English Single + Performs on Colbert’s #PlayAtHome Series

TWICE released the English version of their current title track “I CAN’T STOP ME” today via Republic Records, …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.