The Shins have shared “Heartworms (Flipped),” which is given a disco makeover with Moroder-style synths and the latest track from their forthcoming album The Worm’s Heart. The complete rework of The Shins’ 2017 acclaimed album Heartworms will be released on Friday, January 19. The Worm’s Heart is available for pre-order now and includes immediate downloads of “Name For You (Flipped),” “Cherry Hearts (Flipped),” and “Dead Alive (Flipped).” See full track listing below.

When James Mercer wrote, produced, and recorded Heartworms, he had this desire for an alternate version, an opposite version. The original track order is reversed and songs are reborn, yet the lyrics and melody remain intact. “The Fear” is transformed from tender lament into a growling garage rock cut, “Dead Alive (Flipped)” is given a more sober and serious take, while “Half a Million” is reworked into a reggae and rocksteady-tinged reboot. The reasoning was to showcase the versatility and strength of Mercer’s songwriting, the result is The Worm’s Heart.

The Worm’s Heart Tracklisting:

  1. The Fear (Flipped)

  2. So Now What (Flipped)

  3. Heartworms (Flipped)

  4. Dead Alive (Flipped)

  5. Half a Million (Flipped)

  6. Rubber Ballz (Flipped)

  7. Mildenhall (Flipped)

  8. Fantasy Island (Flipped)

  9. Cherry Hearts (Flipped)

  10. Painting a Hole (Flipped)

  11. Name For You (Flipped)

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Vevo and DSCVR Artist Dominic Fike Premiere “King of Everything” Video

Vevo announces the release of Dominic Fike’s DSCVR performance of “King of Everything” off his latest release, Don’t Forget …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.