Sundance ASCAP Music Café Presents its 20th Anniversary Lineup with Michael Franti, Brett Dennen, Mr Hudson, Ruelle, Ethan Gruska, Striking Matches and more at 2018 Sundance Film Festival

ASCAP, The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers, the world leader in performing rights and advocacy for music creators, announces its music lineup for the Sundance ASCAP Music Café at the 2018 Sundance Film Festival in Park City, Utah. The 20th annual Sundance ASCAP Music Café – running during the daytime from January 19-26 – presents a vibrant roster of renowned and up-and-coming artists and songwriters, specially curated by ASCAP for the Sundance Film Festival. In addition, an invitation-only ASCAP Composer-Filmmaker Cocktail Party takes place on Tuesday, January 23, where filmmakers and music creators will meet to make the kinds of connections that happen only at the Sundance Film Festival.

ASCAP Assistant Vice President and Sundance ASCAP Music Café producer Loretta Muñoz commented: “ASCAP is proud to celebrate our 20th year of spotlighting music’s essential role in the art of filmmaking at the Sundance ASCAP Music Café. We have always shared the Sundance Film Festival’s dedication to discovering and supporting great art and those who create it. Since the Music Café’s inception, we have been privileged to introduce many of our favorite ASCAP songwriters to an audience of top filmmakers at the Music Café, and hosted brilliant performances by Patti Smith, Chris Stapleton, Flying Lotus, St. Vincent, Neil Young, and Jon Batiste and Stay Human among so many others. Two decades have simply flown by!”

The Sundance ASCAP Music Café will be located at Rich Haines Gallery (751 Main Street, Park City, UT) and is open to all Festival credential holders (21 and older). Performances begin each day at 2:00pm. Featured performers at the 2018 Sundance ASCAP Music Café include: Madison Cunningham, Dark Rooms, Brett Dennen, Elliot Root, Michael Franti, Ethan Gruska, Mr Hudson, Ruelle, Striking Matches, The Score and NewSong Competition winner Crys Matthews. A special “CMA Songwriter Series” lineup on January 25 and 26 will include Big Loud Records new artist Jillian Jacqueline, award-winning songwriters, Steven Lee Olsen, and Tenille Townes.

To view a complete schedule of performances and hear the music of Café artists, visit For the latest information on ASCAP events at the Sundance Film Festival, as well as on-site coverage, follow ASCAP on TwitterFacebook, Instagram, and through the event hashtag, #ASCAPMusicCafe.

The ASCAP Composer-Filmmaker Cocktail Party

On the evening of Tuesday, January 23, ASCAP hosts the ASCAP Composer-Filmmaker Cocktail Party. This is an invite-only, after-show celebration held at the Sundance ASCAP Music Café. The private event is for Festival filmmakers, ASCAP film composers, Sundance ASCAP Music Café artists and music supervisors. Festival filmmakers and film composers who are interested in attending may contact [email protected] for further details.

Music in Film

The 2018 Sundance Film Festival includes many films and audio/visual projects that prominently feature the music of ASCAP’s composer and songwriter members. ASCAP composers and foreign affiliates who have scored Festival films and audio/visual projects this year include: Hans Zimmer (Believer, Masters of the Sun), John Debney (Beirut), Pedro Bromfman (End of the Line),  Jóhann Jóhannsson (Mandy), Blair Brothers (This Close), Anne Nikitin (American Animals), Nathan Halpern (The Rider, Night Comes On, Minding the Gap, Search), Danny Bensi (Kailash), Roger Goula (The Last Race), Patrick Jonsson (On Her Shoulders, Fry Up), Howard Shore (The Catcher Was a Spy), Paul Saunderson (Three Identical Strangers), Michael Yezerski (Blindspotting, Mr. Inbetween), Dickon Hinchliffe (Burden, Leave No Trace, Yardie), Julian Wass (The Miseducation of Cameron Post), Peter Raeburn (NANCY), Merrill Garbus (Sorry to Bother You), Boots Riley (Sorry to Bother You), Ariel Marx (The Tale, Hair Wolf), David Lang (Wildlife), Karim Sebastian Elias (Of Fathers and Sons), Ishai Adar (Shirkers), Daniel Jones (Westwood: Punk, Icon, Activist), Csaba Kalotás (A Woman Captured), Ahmet Kenan Bilgic (Butterflies), Andrew Orkin (Dead Pigs), Caspar Hesselager (The Guilty), Martin Dirkov (Holiday), Giorgio Giampà (Time Share aka Tiempo Compartido), Stella Mozgawa (Clara’s Ghost), Torin Borrowdale (Search), Nick Zammuto (We the Animals), Ian Hultquist (Assassination Nation), Roger Neill (A Kid Like Jake), Thomas Adès (Colette), Marc Streitenfeld (Come Sunday), Gabriel Yared (The Happy Prince), Steven Price (Ophelia), Danny Mulhern (What They Had), Jacques Brautbar (Bad Reputation), Jackson Greenberg (The Game Changers), Jonathan Kirkscey (Won’t You Be My Neighbor), Chris Willis (The Death of Stalin), Ophir Leibovitch (Foxtrot), Ophir Leibovitch (Foxtrot), Amit Poznansky (Foxtrot), Matthew James Kelly (I Am Not a Witch), David Tobin (Super Size Me 2: Holy Chicken!), Cody Westheimer (Halfway There), Titanic Sinclair (I’m Poppy), Gordon Bash (The Mortified Guide), Leonardo Heiblum (ARIA), Hans Appelqvist (The Burden), Alies Sluiter (Garfield), Darko Rundek (Hedgehog’s Home), Scott Thorough (LaZercism), Terence Dunn (Manivald), Curtis Heath (Maude), Adam Arcuragi (Men Don’t Whisper), David Boman (Wyrm), Adam Taylor (I Think We’re Alone Now), Anna Meredith (Eighth Grade), Patrick Watson (Anote’s Ark), Paradox Paradise (The Cleaners), Max Richter (Genesis 2.0), Francois Jolin (The Oslo Diaries), The Presidential Band (Our New President), Gisli Galdur (And Breathe Normally), Troy Herion (306 Hollywood), Andrew Hung (An Evening With Beverly Luff Linn), Stella Mozgawa (Clara’s Ghost), Ed Harcourt (Sun Ladies VR), Jason Sweeney (Summation of Force), Nima Fakhrara (Hero), Colin Stetson (Hereditary), Gingger Shankar (Akicita.: The Battle of Standing Rock), Holy Ghost! (Chef Flynn), Adam Dorn (Robin Williams: Come Inside My Mind), Lorne Balfe (Studio 54), Jim Williams (BEAST), Jonny Greenwood (You Were Never Really Here), Joshua Abrams (America to Me), Andrew Hung (Tropical Cop Tales), Takatsugu Muramatsu (Lu Over the Wall), Bruno Coulais (White Fang), Fatima Dunn (Intimity), Terence Dunn (Manivald), Ali Helnwein (Nevada), Antonio Quiroga Waldthaler ([O]).

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

MADDOX JONES Releases Uplifting “World’s Gone Mad”

Rising UK singer-songwriter Maddox Jones follows up his debut EP (Headspace) with a heartwarming new single, “World’s …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.