Home / News / ARTISTS FOR DISASTER RELIEF “ARECIBO” PROCEEDS TO ‘FRIENDS OF PUERTO RICO’

ARTISTS FOR DISASTER RELIEF “ARECIBO” PROCEEDS TO ‘FRIENDS OF PUERTO RICO’

Singer Kaleb Davies and Drummer Ryan Dawson of the Torrance, CA based band The 131ers found themselves caught in the middle of Hurricane Irma during what was supposed to be a vacation in Puerto Rico. They had to participate in preparation efforts with people they had just met and now call friends while they rode out the storm in a hostel.

Upon their safe arrival home to California, Hurricane Maria followed up and absolutely devastated the island of Puerto Rico, directly impacting many of the people they left behind. In the wake of this, Kaleb and Ryan desperately wanted to do something to help. They started approaching other musicians and bands to put together a special compilation album to help raise money to go towards the on-going relief efforts.

Together they have founded Artists for Disaster Relief (www.afdrmusic.com), an organization they set up to bring musicians together to fund charity efforts around the world. Their first project, “Arecibo” is a compilation album to be released on January 9th via Pledge Music with all proceeds going to Friends of Puerto Rico (www.friendsofpuertorico.org.)

Order the album here: www.pledgemusic.com/afdr

Hear more from the 131ers about this project here: https://youtu.be/h89127Afb2s

In addition to the 131ers (http://the131ers.com) the following bands have contributed songs to this special release.

Kiev (www.kievband.com)

Vista Kicks (www.vistakicks.com)

Ogikubo Station (Mike Park from Asian Man Records and Maura Weaver from Mixtapes)

Cosmos & Creature (www.cosmosandcreature.com)

Mark Yaeger (www.markyaeger.com)

Wetwood Smokes (www.wetwoodsmokes.com)

Walki-Talki (The first collaboration in 15 years between current and ex-Suburban Legends singers Vince Walker and Tim Maurer (www.suburbanlegends.com)

Liv Slingerland (www.livslingerland.com)

Blaketheman1000 (www.blaketheman1000.bandcamp.com)

Cameron Royce & The Lizards (www.cameronroyce.com)

Lucy & La Mer (www.listentolucy.com)

Sanderlings (www.sanderlings.bandcamp.com)

Triangle Shirt Factory (www.triangleshirtfactory.bandcamp.com)

Super Cassette (www.supercassetteband.bandcamp.com)

To further help raise money for the relief efforts a live show is in the works with news about it coming soon.

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Alexander Biggs Shares New Song “Madeleine”

Alexander Biggs has shared a new single “Madeleine.” Described as an observational piece, the song is an amalgamation …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.