PREMIERE: HUNGER releases LIVE video to hit track “Amused”

Showcasing the eerie and haunting 80s vibe that distinguish them, HUNGER are back with the live video for the new live video for the title track off their upcoming album, Amused.

Austrian electronic pop/rock band HUNGER has released their new EP,  ‘Amused’ worldwide on the 8th December via YYODA Records and produced by Dan Weller (Enter Shikari, Young Guns, Kids in Glass House). The band has amassed over five hundred thousand views on Youtube as well as heavy rotation on Austria’s Hitradio Ö3, the New Music Friday Playlist on Spotify, and the Global Viral 50 Chart. The sound of HUNGER has laid claim to Viennese Fashion Week,  and featured as the soundtrack to Netflix’s ’13 Reasons Why’ as well as a commercial spot on Austrian showcase festival Waves Vienna.  Their extensive touring schedule has seen them perform at a string of festivals, including Out Of The Woods Festival with the likes of  Alt-J, Phoenix, Feist, Sohn, Milky Chance, and The Strumbellas.

Hailing from the idyllic suburbs of Vienna, HUNGER first formed in early 2014. Childhood friends Daniel Rumpel and Johannes Herbst approached long-term fellow and vocalist Lucas Fendrich with the intention of creating a truly dark and cinematic sound. Once they’d developed a batch of demos, the three musicians headed to the outskirts of Vienna, built up a studio in a borrowed apartment and brought their sound to life.

Standard song structures and melodies were disregarded in favor of the tone and evocation of the music and their perspectives shifted when the band went into studio with British producer Dan Weller. Throughout the album, Fendrich, Rumpel, and Herbst channel big emotion into a moody but melodic blend of alt-rock and synth-pop, resulting in a vast, dark, cinematic sound – and the formation of HUNGER. The EP expands on their deeply visual sensibilities by delivering a gorgeously gritty video for ‘Gravity’ made in collaboration with Christian Lamb (an acclaimed director known for his work with artists like Coldplay, Bob Dylan, Madonna, Taylor Swift, and Rihanna).

Many have drawn parallels to Imagine Dragons, Coldplay, The 1975, The Neighbourhood, and 30 Seconds To Mars, but HUNGER embodies their own sound, as visceral and evocative as their name suggests.

Amused EP is mature, reflective, elegant and just that little bit haunting, displaying Hunger’s ability to conjure emotion. Beautiful textures meet dark intricacies, and Hunger inhabit their sound in a manner that establishes mood and atmosphere. This, combined with their palpable chemistry, renders  Amused EP utterly irresistible.

The band is currently back in the studio working on their forthcoming album.

Amused EP Tracklist:

01 Amused

02 In Colour

03 Gravity

04. Bubbles

05. Gravity (Acoustic)

06. Amused (Acoustic)







About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

SKULLCRUSHER Releases Two New Tracks: “Farm” b/w A Cover Of Radiohead’s “Lift”

When Helen Ballentine – who records as Skullcrusher – released her debut EP, a collection of four impressive and …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.