Folk Punk heroes, SKINNY LISTER have wrapped up an extra special present for their fans and listeners everywhere this year ahead of their imminent Double Trouble Tour with Beans on Toast.

Christmas Calls’ is an epic new Christmas anthem which harks back to The Pogues all time classic, ‘Fairy Tale of New York’ while retaining an authentic Skinny Lister vibe. ‘Christmas Calls’ is arguably the most epic sounding record the band have produced to date.

While on tour with Dropkick Murphy’s earlier in 2017, the band shot and self-directed the accompanying video to Christmas Call’s which sees them trek across the scenic snow dusted hills of Austria and Germany. Shot on 1970’s Super 8 film and featuring behind the scenes tour action, the video is a Christmas postcard in itself. 

Check it out here: 


Speaking about the track Daniel Heptinstall says:

 “I wrote this song in the lead up to last Christmas so I was in full festive spirit! I didn’t actually make a conscious decision to write a Christmas song, it wasn’t contrived in any way, it just arrived when I picked up the guitar one day. I am a big fan of a good Christmas track and that warm nostalgic feeling they can evoke. I’ve always had soft spot for a bit of Chris Rea when driving up North to see the family for Christmas, or the festive rush of nostalgia I get from those opening bars of The Pogues’ ‘Fairytale of New York’. I’m more than happy to throw a Skinny Lister one into the mix.”

Recorded at Rockfield Studios in Monmouth, Wales (where the band also recorded their previous album ‘Down On Deptford Broadway’), the track was produced by Tristan Ivemy, a kindred spirit also behind production on their acclaimed third LP ‘The Devil, The Heart & The Fight’. 

Available to download and stream now, ‘Christmas Calls’ features on the band’s recently released 2-disc Deluxe Edition of ‘The Devil, The Heart, The Fight’ (out now on Xtra Mile Recordings). New songs ‘Thing Like That‘ and ‘Christmas Calls‘ lead the second CD of the new package before treating the listener to the frenetic energy of their live performances from the band’s biggest sold out London show to date at the Scala, and from the Roundhouse during Frank Turner’s Lost Evenings Festival both in May 2017. 

You can also check out the band playing ‘Hamburg Drunk’ from the Roundhouse here with on the road footage taken from the weekend they performed at Hurricane, Southside and Glastonbury Festivals. 

The bonus disc also features acoustic sessions from Paste in New York and the Xtra Mile Outside Broadcast truck which showcase the musical talents of a band that can not only give a full throttle performance on stage but are also able to strip it all back for more intimate renditions. The disc also features 4 tracks of live band banter, and ends with a lo-fi version of new track ‘Boy Ashore’ which offers an intriguing insight into a more raw and folkier side of Skinny Lister.

Skinny Lister are currently touring with the release across Europe, before heading for home to for the Double Trouble Tour Dates with Xtra Mile Label-mate Beans on Toast. Remaining dates as follows:


01 Copenhagen, Denmark – Pumpehuset

02 Oslo, Norway – Parkteatret

03 Stockholm, Sweden – Debaser Strand

04 Helsinki, Finland – Tavastia-klubi

07 Munich, Germany – Hansa 39 Feierwerk

08 Vienna, Austria – U4 Vienna

09 Linz, Austria – Stwst Stadtwerkstatt

10 Zürich, Switzerland – Dynamo

11 Stuttgart, Germany – Club-CANN

21 Leeds, UK – Stylus

22 Manchester, UK – O2 The Ritz

23 Glasgow, UK – Oran Mor

24 Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK – Newcastle University

25 Sheffield, UK – The Leadmill

28 Birmingham, UK – Glee Club

29 Nottingham, UK – Rescue Rooms

30 Norwich, UK – Waterfront


01 Cambridge, UK – Junction

02 Leicester, UK – Dryden Street Social

06 Cardiff, UK – The Globe

07 Southampton, UK – 1865

08 Exeter, UK – The Phoenix

09 Bristol, UK – SWX Bristol

10 London, UK – Koko

The full tracklisting is:  

CD 1

  1. Wanted

  2. Geordie Lad

  3. Tragedy in A Minor

  4. Devil In Me

  5. Injuries

  6. Reunion

  7. Beat It From the Chest

  8. Hamburg Drunk

  9. Grace

  10. Charlie

  11. Fair Winds & Following Seas

  12. Carry


  1. Live Intro

  2. Thing Like That (new song)

  3. Christmas Calls (new song)

  4. Band Chat – Roundhouse

  5. Wanted (Live at London Roundhouse)

    Hamburg Drunk (Live at London Roundhouse)

  6. This Is War (Live at London Roundhouse)

  7. Band Chat – Sessions

  8. Injuries (Paste Session)

  9. Tragedy In A Minor (Paste Session)

  10. Geordie Lad (XMROB1 Truck Session)

  11. Band Chat – Bootlegs

  12. John Kanaka (London Scala Bootleg)

  13. Cathy (London Scala Bootleg)

  14. Bold As Brass (London Scala Bootleg)

  15. Band chat – Boy Ashore

  16. Boy Ashore (new song)

Order links for The Devil, The Heart & The Fight Deluxe Edition

Xtra Mile Recordings – smarturl.it/DHFdeluxe-xmr

iTunes – smarturl.it/DHFdeluxe-itunes

Amazon – smarturl.it/DHFDeluxe-AMAZON







About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Blossoms Return With “Your Girlfriend”

Today, one of Britain’s biggest bands, Blossoms, have revealed their brand new single and official music video for …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.