Home / News / Umphrey’s McGee Release New Single*Announce ‘it’s not us’ Album Details

Umphrey’s McGee Release New Single*Announce ‘it’s not us’ Album Details

Umphrey’s McGee have announced details on their 11th studio album it’s not us, out January 12th. Comprised of 11 wide-ranging, vibrant songs the LP is a dynamic statement album that showcases the versatility and world-class musicianship that is at the band’s core. CLICK HERE to listen to lead single “The Silent Type,”which premiered yesterday via Billboard.comPowered by a bombastic beat, funkified rhythms, fiery fretwork, and a chantable refrain the single is an id-provoked reflection on temptation and its potential consequences, showcasing the band’s most succinct and accessible songwriting to date.

it’s not us is available NOW for pre-order. In addition to the standard download, CD, and vinyl, this release offers the most robust deluxe package UM has ever created. Housed inside a leather bound book, the deluxe includes double 180 gram (with an Augmented Reality component), CD, download, bonus 7″ EP featuring two unreleased tracks, a 72 page color coffee table book and moreCLICK HERE for additional details on the pre-order and the deluxe bundle.

In celebration of the release of the album, the band will kick off 2018 with the first leg of their ‘it’s not us’ Tour. The 17-date headline trek will include a 3-night residency at New York City’s famed Beacon Theatre January 19-21, ending with an epic show marking Umphrey’s McGee’s official 20th birthday. The band will be joined by some very special guests along the way – support to be announced soon! Full routing below. For ticket info please visit http://www.umphreys.com/.

By harnessing the energy of their live performances into the precision of their studio craft, it’s not us encapsulates a range that is rarely found in a single band, especially one that is about to celebrate their 20th Anniversary. From the vulnerable, acoustic “You & You Alone,”to the percussive wallop of “Looks,” to the slow-burning “Whistle Kids” and the airy guitar and iridescent refrain of “Half Delayed,” the album offers something for fans and newcomers alike. This diversity can even be found within a single song as “Remind Me” begins with a funky bassline and rhythmic guitar licks, then explodes into a thundercloud of metallic shredding. It is this juxtaposition that distinguishes the album as their strongest studio offering yet, finding them at the pinnacle of their craft and groove as a group.

it’s not us TRACK LISTING:

1. The Silent Type
2. Looks
3. Whistle Kids
4. Half Delayed
5. Maybe Someday
6. Remind Me
7. You & You Alone
8. Forks
9. Speak Up
10. Piranhas
11. Dark Brush


November 2                     Cleveland, OH @ House of Blues
November 3                     Madison, WI @ Orpheum Theater
November 4                     Madison, WI @ Orpheum Theater
November 9                     Hermosa, CA @ Saint Rocke **NON-UM: Stickum feat. Kris
November 11                  San Diego, CA @ Winstons Beach Club **NON-UM: Stickum feat. Kris
November 12                  Los Angeles, CA @ Moroccan Lounge **NON-UM: Kweko feat. Kris
December 1-5                 Punta Cana, Dominican Republic @ Dominican Holidaze
December 15                  Chicago, IL @ Park West **NON-UM: 15th Annual Brendan & Jake Holiday Show
December 29                  Denver, CO @ Fillmore Auditorium
December 30                  Denver, CO @ Fillmore Auditorium
December 31                  Denver, CO @ Fillmore Auditorium
January 11                       Pittsburgh, PA @ Stage AE
January 12                       Cincinatti, OH @ Taft Theatre
January 13                       Cincinatti, OH @ Taft Theatre
January 19                       New York, NY @ The Beacon Theatre
January 20                       New York, NY @ The Beacon Theatre
January 21                       New York, NY @ The Beacon Theatre
January 25                       New Haven, CT @ College Street Music Hall
January 26                       Philadelphia, PA @ The Fillmore
January 27                       Philadelphia, PA @ The Fillmore
January 28                       Jim Thorpe, PA @ Penn’s Peak
February 1                       Columbus, OH @ Express Live!
February 2                       Kalamazoo, MI @ Wings Event Center
February 3                       Kalamazoo, MI @ Wings Event Center
February 15                    Washington, DC @ The Anthem
February 16                    Asheville, NC @ ExploreAsheville.com Arena
February 17                    Asheville, NC @ ExploreAsheville.com Arena
February 18                    Tampa, FL @ WhigFest Music & Arts Festival

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Nardean Returns With Spellbinding New Single ‘MAGIC!’

Egyptian-Australian artist Nardean returns with a new spellbinding single ‘MAGIC!’ featuring Heirloome. Listen to ‘MAGIC!’ …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.