Home / News / Kalu & The Electric Joint Inject African Funk w/Texas Heat on New LP

Kalu & The Electric Joint Inject African Funk w/Texas Heat on New LP

“Heart is broken, will is shaken…maybe time will heal it all,” Kalu James sings with his seismic croon over rattling bass frequencies and liquid wah-wah guitars, a plaintive declaration of optimism through pain. So begins Kalu & The Electric Joint’s ‘Time Undone’ (out December 8 on Spaceflight Records), a psychedelia-steeped blend of ethno-funk and neo-soul that serves as a palette for frontman Kalu James’s reflective ruminations on broken spirits, self-determination, and the ultimate triumph of love.

Listen to lead single “Too Low To Get High” over at Afropunk, who call it “soul-stirring…a musical journey that touches the heart while blessing your ears”: http://bit.ly/2zG6eLy

‘Time Undone’ is a sonically distinct and philosophically robust statement from Kalu & The Electric Joint, the Austin-based ensemble led by Nigerian immigrant Kalu James and guitarist Jonathan “JT” Holt. The album testifies to the band’s talent and mission with inventive arrangements, Kalu’s stunning vocals and a deep well of influences that invoke the low-end theory of hip-hop, West African funk, and heavy-hitting rock.

Kalu and JT wrote all nine of the album’s songs, perfecting them during a weekly residency at Austin’s Continental Club Gallery that was initially intended to last only a month but eventually stretched to three years. The group recorded the album with producer Brett Orrison, known for his work with The Black Angels and Widespread Panic, over a year’s time at Nest Recording in Driftwood, Texas. The album features guest appearances by members of Widespread Panic, The War on Drugs, The Sword and Grupo Fantasma.

Starting with the sounds of his homeland and a lifelong passion for the unorthodox approach, Kalu blazes an inclusive trail for himself that could not be more genuine. He embraces not only the creative attitude of his adopted hometown but also the traditions of his past. Remaining deeply in tune with the traditions of his upbringing, he balances his responsibilities to his family in Nigeria while pursuing his calling in the US. Having recently become an American citizen, he’s ready to add to this country’s greatest export — its music.

Kalu & The Electric Joint is comprised of Kalu James (vocals), JT Holt (guitar), and John Speice (percussion). This year they are playing Austin gigs with George Clinton and DaM-FunK before prepping for a national tour in 2018.

‘Time Undone’ Tracklist:
1. Too Low To Get High
2. Time Undone
3. Testify
4. Get It Right
5. Stay
6. Sea Of Life
7. Love Is Good
8. Fighter
9. Place For Fools

Kalu & The Electric Joint On The Web:
Website: http://www.kaluandtheelectricjoint.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/KaluandTheElectricJoint/
Twitter: @theelectricjoint
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/kaluandtheelectricjoint/

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

RJ Word Unveils New Visuals For “Do You?”

RJ Word criticizes the realm of pop culture and the reality of young romance in …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.