Home / News / The Cuckoos Sign Distribution Deal with Republic of Music

The Cuckoos Sign Distribution Deal with Republic of Music

The Cuckoos have signed a distribution deal with Republic of Music following the success of their self-titled debut EP, released in April 2017. “Republic of Music are delighted to be working with The Cuckoos,” explains Mark McQuillan, Managing Director at Republic of Music. “As soon as I heard their excellent EP I knew it was a band we could work with and help build their profile. Great tunes and real promise.” Through Republic of Music, the band will be re-releasing their aforementioned EP, featuring a new song “A Little Bit Funky”, on 11/24. Pre-order for the updated album is available here: http://hyperurl.co/TheCuckoosNewSunrise. For more information, please visit: http://www.thecuckoosaustin.com/.

With the release of their self-titled debut EP, The Cuckoos garnered praise for their ability to bring back the sounds of the 1960s through their original songs. Relix Magazine championed the album, writing, “It builds on the band’s captivating blend of genres, evoking the 1960s through a contemporary lens.” Glide Magazine also likened the “rock and roll magic being conjured” by The Cuckoos to “The Doors, Joy Division and Rick James writing songs with Tame Impala,” while Pancakes And Whiskey lauded the band’s classic, yet modern sound by writing, “Immediately after pressing play we are transported to another time, and possibly another dimension.” Similarly, Classic Rock Magazine christened The Cuckoos’ psychedelic garage rock “spectacular,” declaring the band “hip young dudes who mine the late sixties acid rock scene for inspiration, but sound so authentic you’ll think you’re having a flashback.”

Following its release, the EP hit #53 on NACC Radio 200, #13 on NACC Radio 200 Adds and #34 on FMQB Alt Spec Albums. The success of the EP also helped make possible a two-week tour of the UK, a show in New York City and their first-ever Mexico dates taking place this upcoming December.

The Cuckoos were formed in 2014 by lead vocalist/keyboardist, Kenneth Frost, and lead guitarist/backing vocalist, Dave North. To flesh out their lineup, North introduced Frost to a pair of his longtime friends, including powerhouse drummer Cole Koenning and bassist Eric Ross. Together, despite their young ages, the four musicians have quickly amassed a body of work that evokes a nostalgic classic-rock sound, yet remains fresh and innovative.

In their short time as a band, The Cuckoos have earned a number of accolades, including #1 Psychedelic Band to See Live by Classic Rock Magazine (Pink Floyd Issue), and #1 Emerging Psychedelic Band by The Deli Austin in 2015. “We just want to make music that makes people feel good and feel bad,” Frost explains. “We just want them to feel something; something that’s passionate and honest.”

For more information please visit:







The Cuckoos

1. Get It On

2. Stuck Dreamin’ Of The Girl Next Door

3. A Little Bit Funky

4. Mind Breakthrough

5. New Sunrise

6. It’s Too Late

7. You’re Gonna Work For Us Until The Day You Die

8. Mind Breakthrough

8. New Sunrise

 Tour Dates

12/7 – Departamento, Roma, Mexico City, MX

12/8 – La Capilla de los Muertos, Mexico City, MX

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Bobby Shann Unveils “Principles”

Following on from his ‘Frame Of Mind’ release earlier this summer which was the first single to …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.