Gdansk, Poland post-punk-psych band Trupa Trupa announce their third LP Jolly New Songs. Last week, they released the video for album track “Coffin” via The Quietus, who writes, “The nocturnal visuals of barren tree branches and power stations sit alongside the band’s somewhat morbid love song which marries intense post-rock guitars with more indie sensibilities underlined by singer Grzegorz Kwiatkowski’s delicate vocals.”

The Quietus also premiered first single, “To Me,” stating, “Entitled Jolly New Songs, the album sees the band gunning for an overtly more triumphant tone than previous offerings. “To Me” was inspired by the poetry and legacy of poet Walt Whitman. BBC Radio is currently spinning the track as well. “To Me” gives a good taste of what to expect off the full record. Nothing hurts harder than a surprise ending, and the title track of this album has a real face-slap of one. One minute you’re in bliss, carried away in a crescendo of spine-tingling post-rock guitars and soft, wordless oohs, the next you’re through – the song’s out the door, down the street, pulling away from the curb and into a new life. The overall tone of Jolly New Song is so anthemic and – for this band – uncharacteristically triumphant, only makes having the rug pulled out from under you like this seem so much more cruel, so much more funny. Perhaps the harder the fall is, the more you have to laugh.

Trupa Trupa are sodden in a particularly cryptic kind of gallows humour. This isn’t just down to some glitch in translation – it could be in part due to the band’s art-rock origins and because their singer and guitarist, Grzegorz Kwiatkowski is an award-winning poet in Poland (incidentally, Trupa Trupa themselves have been shortlisted for the Polish equivalent of the Mercury Music Prize). The band’s name in English roughly translates to Corpse Corpse, which sounds like the punchline to some inscrutable gothic joke. You can dance to this album – check out the to-die-for funk groove that propels the Can-like “Falling.” You can trip out to it – check out the psychedelic meltdown that mutates the Wurlitzer fairground music of “Only Good Weather” into something dark and psyche-scarring.

Jolly New Songs comes heavily anticipated after their 2015 full length Headache that was released to raves from The QuietusKEXP, and LA Times. The record will be released via Ici d’ailleurs (Yann Tiersen, Matt Elliott/The Third Eye Foundation, Stefan Wesołowski), and Blue Tapes and X-Ray Records (Jute Gyte, Tashi Dorji, Mats Gustafsson, Katie Gately) with american distribution via Forced Exposure. Jolly New Songs was recorded at Dickie Dreams studio in Gdansk, Poland, and produced by Michał Kupicz (recording, mixing and mastering). It is scheduled to release October 27, 2017.


02.08 – Wrocław, Wyspa Tamka
03.08 – Warsaw, Lado w Mieście
04.08 – Katowice, OFF Festival
12.08 – Łowicz, Ł Festiwal
02.09 – London, The Lexington
09.09 – Vilnius, What’s Next in Music?
06.10 – Gdańsk, Klub ŻAK
27.10 – Nantes, Festival SOY
28.10 – Vendome, Rockomotives Festival

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

The Prosaics wryly deliver a scathing critique of the world with synth track ‘Frown’

The Prosaics, aka A.G. Williams, is one man with a machine, who through his songs …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.