On October 27, Blue Note Records will release a new Deluxe Edition of Norah Jones’ acclaimed album Day Breaks. A 2-CD set and the limited edition 2-LP 180g silver foil-cover vinyl are available for pre-order today on the Norah Jones StoreThe Deluxe Edition will also be available at all digital retailers and streaming services on October 27. The expanded track listing includes the addition of nine songs recorded live in New York City during Norah’s memorable album release shows at the Sheen Center’s Loreto Theater in October 2016. The live cuts include versions of songs from Day Breaks like “Flipside” and the Horace Silver ballad “Peace,” as well as fan favorites like “Don’t Know Why” and “Sunrise,” performed by Norah (voice, piano), Chris Thomas (bass), Brian Blade (drums), Pete Remm (Hammond B-3 organ), and background vocalists Tarriona ‘Tank’ Ball & Anjelika ‘Jelly’ Joseph of Tank and The Bangas (winners of NPR Music’s 2017 Tiny Desk Contest).

Norah has a series of intimate sold-out shows this month in New York and London. The 9-time GRAMMY-winning singer, songwriter, and pianist is performing songs from Day Breaks with Blade and Thomas this week at (le) poisson rouge in New York City (September 10-14) before heading to London to perform at Ronnie Scott’s Jazz Club (September 25-26). Watch the trio perform “Peace” live at the Sheen Center.

On October 28, Norah will make her fourth appearance on the esteemed PBS program Austin City Limits. She has performed songs from Day Breaks on TV shows including The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy FallonThe Today ShowLate Late Show With James Corden, CBS This MorningLate Show With Stephen ColbertLive With Kelly, and Jimmy Kimmel Live, has been interviewed by everyone from Marc Maron to Dan Rather, and dissected her song “Day Breaks” on the podcast Song ExploderDay Breaks earned rave 4-star reviews from Rolling Stone (“a marvelous consolidation, floating buoyantly between past tradition and her own unique present”), MOJO (“her masterpiece to date… inspired and breathtaking… Small-hours jazz perfection), and DownBeat (“both a return to roots and a triumphant showcase of stylistic diversity”).

The track listing for Day Break (Deluxe Edition) is as follow:

Disc One (original album)

1. Burn

2. Tragedy

3. Flipside

4. It’s A Wonderful Time For Love

5. And Then There Was You

6. Don’t Be Denied

7. Day Breaks

8. Peace

9. Once I Had A Laugh

10. Sleeping Wild

11. Carry On

12. Fleurette Africaine (African Flower)

Disc Two (Live at The Sheen Center for Thought & Culture)

1. Peace

2. I’ve Got To See You Again

3. Out On The Road

4. Sunrise

5. Burn

6. It¹s A Wonderful Time For Love

7. Flipside

8. Don’t Know Why

9. Fleurette Africaine (African Flower)

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also


Tampon Rock follows the dating foibles of the two lead lesbian characters – Deja and …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.