Matt Cameron Announces Solo Project Cavedweller to be Released on September 22

Today, Matt Cameron, Grammy Award winning drummer for Soundgarden and Pearl Jam, announces the details and first song “Time Can’t Wait” from his upcoming solo LP entitled Cavedweller – LISTEN HERE and read via Rolling Stone. Cavedweller was recorded at Matt’s house, the Bunker Studio in Brooklyn, and the Bait Shop in Seattle. The LP and limited edition vinyl are available for pre-order today – CLICK HERE to pre-order the Digital LP on iTunes and CLICK HERE to pre-order the vinyl via Pearl Jam’s website. A very limited number of customers will receive a colored vinyl version.

Before Matt Cameron became a Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductee and drummer for two of history’s most impactful rock bands, he cut a handful of solo songs on Seattle cassette compilations under the name Cavedweller in the 1980’s. Matt had recently relocated from his native San Diego to Seattle and introduced himself to the seminal scene he would eventually serve as a cornerstone member. So, it feels apropos that the singer, songwriter, multi-instrumentalist, and world-renowned drummer would adopt Cavedweller as the title of his 2017 solo debut.

“I thought it would be cool to use that name again three decades later,” said Matt on Cavedweller. “I’ve been writing my own songs since I was 17-years-old. I always enjoyed playing guitar and trying to cultivate my voice as a songwriter. However, I’ve been lucky to play in bands with the best singers and lyricists of my generation. My voice was never necessarily needed in them.  With this album, I wanted to really make my vocals and guitar playing come through. It’s almost like I tried to start a solo career 30 years ago, and I’m just now getting back to it.”

Matt played drums and bass on a select few tracks on the album, sang vocals and wrote and produced the album. Cameron then assembled an all-star cast of friends to bring Cavedweller to life, including Bowie’s  drummer Mark Giuliana and the album’s bassist Tim Lefebvre. He also enlisted the help of Alain Johannes on lead guitar for two tracks.

“What I’ve been able to accomplish as a drummer has been phenomenal,” Matt said. “As a musician, I’ve wanted to do more. It’s more of a personal challenge. I’d love for fans to see I have more to offer. Music has always meant the most to me when it’s extremely personal. I still have that passion to connect with this inner desire to create-maybe more than ever.”

Cavedweller Track Listing:

  1.        Time Can’t Wait

  2.        All at Once

  3.        Blind

  4.        Through the Ceiling

  5.        One Special Lady

  6.        In the Trees

  7.        Into the Fire

  8.       Real and Imagined

  9.        Unnecessary

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also


Nashville-based singer-songwriter, Meaghan Farrell, has released her new single, “My Anarchy,” through Noble Steed Music.  …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.