Home / News / Papa Roach Denounce Hate & Divided Democracy in “American Dreams”

Papa Roach Denounce Hate & Divided Democracy in “American Dreams”

Papa Roach pulls no punches when it comes to politics. Earlier this year, the multi-platinum, award winning icons of alternative hard rock made headlines for taking on Paul Ryan in defense of the Affordable Care Act, but it’s “American Dreams,” the latest single off their ninth LP Crooked Teeth, where Papa Roach goes all in on the current state of America’s political affairs.

“America is struggling, America is divided, America is hurting right now,” explains Papa Roach frontman Jacoby Shaddix. “We’re at a fever pitch of confusion, smoke and mirrors, blatant lies. The American Dream is on the chopping block.

“Have you ever thought that war was a sickness? asks the lifelong pacifist in the lyrics for the track.“My father is a Vietnam veteran. Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder and the disintegration of the American family are things I’ve dealt with personally. I know other people relate.”

Today the band reveals the official video for the new LP’s second single, “American Dreams” which went Top-10  at Active Rock this week, holding steady at #8. Shot in Shaddix’s rural Northern California hometown of Sacramento, the video was Produced and Directed by Bryson Roatch, and features  a cast of real life Americans fighting to create their own version of the elusive American Dream and addresses many of the issues preventing them from attaining that dream.

WATCH “AMERICAN DREAMS” OFFICIAL VIDEO  HERE

Something’s wrong here

Or so it seems

‘Cause I’m not sleeping in

American Dreams

American lies

We’re trying to see through the smoke in our eyes

So give me the truth

Don’t tell me your lies

‘Cause it’s harder to breathe

When you’re buried alive

By American Dreams

*full lyrics here

Also, Papa Roach has announced rescheduled dates for four shows on their much-anticipated Headline European Tour this fall, with support from (-) Frank Carter & The Rattlesnakes and (*) Callejon detailed below. The tour will now kick off in Hamburg, Germany on Friday September 15th.

TOUR DATES:

Friday, September 15 – Hamburg, Germany – Sporthalle (-) (*)

Saturday, September 16 – Berlin Germany – Velodrom (-) (*)

Sunday, September 17 – Prague, Czech Republic – Mala Sportovni Hala (-)

Tuesday, September 19 – Warsaw, Poland – Progresja (-)

Wednesday, September 20 – Vienna , Austria – Gasometer (-)

Thursday, September 21 ­ – Munich, Germany – Zenith (*)

Saturday, September 23 – Winterthur, Switzerland – Eulachhalle (-)

Sunday, September 24 – Milan, Italy – Alcatraz (-)

Monday, September 25 – Ludwigsburg, Germany – Arena (-) (*)

Wednesday, September 27 – Fürth, Germany – Stadthalle (-) (*)

Thursday, September 28 – Offenbach, Germany – Stadthalle (-) (*)

Friday, September 29 – Tilburg, Netherlands – O13 (-)

Sunday, October 1 – Antwerp, Belgium – Trix (-)

Monday, October 2 – Luxembourg – Rockhal (-)

Tuesday, October 3 – Oberhausen, Germany – Turbinenhalle (-) (*)

Thursday, October 5 – Birmingham, UK – O2 Academy

Friday, October 6 – Nottingham, UK – Rock City

Saturday, October 7 – Glasgow, UK – Academy

Tuesday, October 10 – London, UK – Brixton Academy

Wednesday, October 11 – Manchester, UK – Apollo

Friday, October 13 – Paris, France – Olympia

Saturday, October 14 – Barcelona, Spain – Sala Apolo (-)

Sunday, October 15 – Madrid, Spain – Riviera (-)

Tuesday, October 17 – Lisbon, Portugal – Lisbon Coliseum

Rescheduled dates:

Sunday, October 22 – (Rescheduled from Wednesday, September 13) – Copenhagen, Denmark –Amager Bio

Monday, October 23 – (Rescheduled from Tuesday, September 12) – Oslo, Norway – Rockefeller

Tuesday, October 24 – (Rescheduled from Monday, September 11) – Stockholm, Sweden – Klubben

Thursday October 26 – (Rescheduled from Saturday, September 9) – Helsinki, Finland – The Circus

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Cryptic Shadow Defines New Sonic Journey With Release of Debut EP ‘Body’

After the launch of brand-new alias ‘Cryptic Shadow’ and the release of his titular track ‘Body’, …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.