Home / News / DEAD ROCK WEST Premiere “More Love” with The Bluegrass Situation; New Album ‘More Love’ Out Friday (8/11)

DEAD ROCK WEST Premiere “More Love” with The Bluegrass Situation; New Album ‘More Love’ Out Friday (8/11)

As DEAD ROCK WEST–the California alt-country rock group fronted by Cindy Wasserman and Frank Lee Drennen–approach the Friday (8/11)release of their new album MORE LOVE (Omnivore Recordings), the band partnered with The Bluegrass Situation to premiere the album’s title track. Click here to listen to “More Love”–a staple in the group’s live set–which is sure to be a highlight during the album’s sold-out release show this Friday (8/11) at McCabe’s Guitar Shop in Santa Monica, CA.

For their fourth album, MORE LOVE joins DEAD ROCK WEST with producer John Doe–of the legendary band X, with whom they’ve toured numerous times–to create an album that places their achingly beautiful signature vocals and harmonies in finely etched rock, alt-country and pop settings.  The sound is both contemporary and timeless. Click here to listen to “Boundless Fearless Love,” another joyously infectious standout from the album which was praised by Randy Lewis of Los Angeles Times’ Pop & Hiss as he premiered the song (6/21) and noted it is “set to a propellant track that’s part R.E.M., part Tom Petty and part Neil Young…”

“They have combined all of the influences (alt-country, gospel, Everly Bros) from their previous records into this one,” says John Doe. “Great songs. Great playing. Wonderful performances. More Love is heart & soul from two deeply original singers & songwriters.” Doe adds: “Somehow Cindy & Frank connect the dots between ’70 country & ’60 soul music. They are a modern day Gram & Emmylou singing songs that Otis & Carla would sing.”

“This was a group effort; band, singers, engineer, producer all equal, all working toward a common, honest goal,” adds Doe. “All of us in a room making real music, from the heart, from intuition, from aching & wanting, from beauty & the desert.”

MORE LOVE–recorded, mixed and mastered in Los Angeles by multiple Grammy Award-winner Dave Way–is comprised of 12 songs about the joy and heartbreak of love. There are 11 DEAD ROCK WEST originals–among them the joyously infectious first single “Boundless Fearless Love,” “Radio Silence” and “Waiting Patiently“–plus a cover of Sam Cooke‘s Bring It On Home to Me” that thematically closes this deeply felt album. The masterful band on MORE LOVE includes D.J. Bonebrake of X, lead guitarist Elliot Easton of The Cars and ace pedal steel guitarist Greg Leisz.

MORE LOVE follows the Los Angeles-based group’s critically hailed tribute album to the Everly Brothers, It’s Everlys Time! (2015), a work that galvanized the group vocally in the studio and onstage at their headline performances as well as on tour with X and Dave Alvin and Phil Alvin. DEAD ROCK WEST will support MORE LOVE with tour dates (TBA), videos and live performances including the above-mentioned album release show and this August’s West of the West/Roots On The Rails journey where they will jointheir friend Dave Alvin and other musicians on an unforgettable musical train ride across the musical heart of America: http://www.rootsontherails.com/upcoming-trips-2017-west-of-the-west

MORE LOVE’s track listing:

1. More Love (Frank LeeDrennen)

2. Boundless Fearless Love (Frank Lee Drennen, Gregg Stewart)

3. Stereo (Frank Lee Drennen, Patrick Michael Dennis)

4. Radio Silence (Frank Lee Drennen)

5. Nail Gun (Frank Lee Drennen)

6. All This Time (Frank Lee Drennen)

7. Singing on the Telephone (Frank Lee Drennen)

8. Waiting Patiently (Cindy Wasserman, Frank Lee Drennen, Gregg Stewart)

9. Darkness Never Tells (Frank Lee Drennen)

10. Bleeding Blue (Frank Lee Drennen)

11. Tell Me Goodbye (Cindy Wasserman, Gregg Stewart)

12. Bring It On Home to Me (Sam Cooke)

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Nardean Returns With Spellbinding New Single ‘MAGIC!’

Egyptian-Australian artist Nardean returns with a new spellbinding single ‘MAGIC!’ featuring Heirloome. Listen to ‘MAGIC!’ …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.