Home / News / Shelby Lynne and Allison Moorer Reveal Video For ‘Is It Too Much’

Shelby Lynne and Allison Moorer Reveal Video For ‘Is It Too Much’

Critically acclaimed artists and sisters Shelby Lynne and Allison Moorer will release Not Dark Yet on August 18th via Silver Cross Records / Thirty Tigers. Produced by Teddy Thompson, their first and highly anticipated album together is an extraordinary debut of the pair’s transcendent musical bond.

Not Dark Yet was recorded in Los Angeles in the summer of 2016. The album provides a potent look at the sisters’ individual and collective artistry through eclectic song choices from writers ranging from the Louvin Brothers, Nick Cave, Kurt Cobain, and back to Jessie Colter. Shelby and Allison wrap their arms around the past, plant their feet in the present, and nod toward what’s around the bend with a co-written “Is It Too Much,” to close out the ten-song set. Watch here

Raised in the haunting and beautiful woods of rural Alabama, the sisters sang as soon as they could form words, but music is the only language they have ever needed to communicate with and understand each other. Not Dark Yet offers a glimpse into that understanding for the first time and finally, after years of trying to get it made, at the right time.

Shelby Lynne and Allison Moorer have pursued separate musical paths, garnering a Grammy, an Oscar nod, and many other awards and nominations along the way. They have collectively released twenty-four albums, but never one together until now. Not Dark Yet is not a duet record. It is no ordinary collaboration. It is not a creation, but rather a celebration of something that has always been, two voices becoming one and finding home within each other.

UK live dates to follow.

Full tracklisting for ‘Not Dark Yet’

  1. My List – The Killers

  2. Every Time You Leave – The Louvin Brothers

  3. Not Dark Yet – Bob Dylan

  4. I’m Looking For Blue Eyes – Jessi Colter

  5. Lungs – Townes Van Zandt

  6. The Color of a Cloudy Day – Jason Isbell and Amanda Shires

  7. Silver Wings – Merle Haggard

  8. Into My Arms – Nick Cave

  9. Lithium – Kurt Cobain

  10. Is It Too Much – Shelby Lynne and Allison Moorer

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Alice Pisano Releases Stripped Down Version Of “Stay”

It’s out now on Vevo the stripped back live video of Alice Pisano’s latest single …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.