Home / News / ALEX LAHEY ANNOUNCES DEBUT ALBUM, I LOVE YOU LIKE A BROTHER, OUT OCTOBER 6TH ON DEAD OCEANS

ALEX LAHEY ANNOUNCES DEBUT ALBUM, I LOVE YOU LIKE A BROTHER, OUT OCTOBER 6TH ON DEAD OCEANS

“I’m just some random from Melbourne.” Alex Lahey likes to keep it real. The 24-year-old Australian musician takes her rise up the ranks from music student to ‘an artist with one of the most highly anticipated debut albums of 2017’ in stride.

Born and raised in Melbourne, Lahey initially studied jazz saxophone at university but unimpressed with “learning music in such a regimented way” she switched to an arts degree. Her tenure with cult music collective Animaux allowed Lahey the musical anarchy she yearned – hell, she booked the band their first gig before they’d even prepared a single song.

Brother finds Lahey back in the studio with production partner, and one-half of Holy Holy, Oscar Dawson(Ali Barter, British India). The pair pushed each other to create an intimate sonic experience that comprises scuzzy guitars thrumming over pop melodies, helmed by Lahey’s unfussy but arresting vocals. The album’s songs traverse the everyday themes of family, heartbreak and identity. Lahey tells her stories with character and dry humor – “I’ve figured it out,” she sings in “Awkward Exchange”, “you’re a bit of a dick” – but there are also moments of darkness. In “Taking Care” she muses, “I’ve gained weight and I drink too much, maybe that’s why you don’t love me as much.” The poignant “Backpack” is a tribute to Lahey’s latest relationship, and the unsure start it got off to.
  
The themes of Alex Lahey’s album might be universal, but it’s the unique approach she takes unpacking them that’s earned her millions of Spotify streams, buzz-worthy showcases at SXSW and festival sets alongside the likes of Flume, The Kills, At The Drive-In and James Blake as well as guesting on tours with Catfish & The Bottlemen, Tegan & Sara and Blondie.

Lahey will bring her tour in support of I Love You Like A Brother stateside this November, kicking off in Boston on Wed. November 15th. A full list of tour dates are below. 

WATCH VIDEO FOR “EVERY DAY’S THE WEEKEND” — 
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tBj_magluuc

ALEX LAHEY TOUR DATES (US DATES IN BOLD):
Tue. Oct. 26 – Brussels, BE @ Botanique Witloofbar [tix]
Fri. Oct. 27 – Rotterdam, NL @ V11 [tix]
Mon. Oct. 30 – Cologne, DE @ Blue Shell [tix]
Tue. Oct. 31 – Hamburg, DE @ Molotow Musikclub [tix]
Wed. Nov. 1 – Berlin, DE @ Privat Club [tix]
Wed. Nov. 3 – Munich, DE @ Kranhalle [tix]
Sat. Nov. 4 – Stuttgart, DE @ Keller Klub [tix]
Sun. Nov. 5 – Fribourg, DE @ Espace culturel Le Nouveau Monde [tix]
Mon. Nov. 6 – Paris, FR @ La Mécanique Ondulatoire [tix]
Wed. Nov. 8 – London, UK @ Boston Music Room [tix]
Tue. Nov. 9 – Bristol, UK @ The Louisiana [tix]
Fri. Nov. 10 – Leeds, UK @ Brudenell Social Club [tix]
Sat. Nov. 11 – Manchester, UK @ Deaf Institute [tix]
Sun. Nov. 12 – Glasgow, UK @ King Tut’s Wah Wah Hut [tix]
Wed. Nov. 15 – Allston, MA @ Great Scott [tix]
Thu. Nov. 16 – Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg [tix]
Fri. Nov. 17 – Philadelphia, PA @ World Cafe Live [tix]
Sun. Nov. 19 – Washington, DC @ DC9 [tix]
Wed. Nov. 22 – Toronto, ON @ The Drake Hotel – Underground [tix]
Fri. Nov. 24 – Chicago, IL @ Subterranean [tix]
Sat. Nov. 25th – Minneapolis, MN @ 7th Street Entry [tix]
Wed. Nov. 29 – Dallas, TX @ Club Dada [tix]
Thu. Nov. 30 – Austin, TX @ Barracuda [tix]
Sat. Dec. 2 – Denver, CO @ Lost Lake Lounge [tix]
Sun. Dec. 3 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Kilby Court [tix]
Tue. Dec. 5 – Phoenix, AZ @ The Rebel Lounge [tix]
Wed. Dec. 6 – San Diego, CA @ The Casbah [tix]
Fri. Dec. 8 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Echo [tix]
Sat.Dec. 9 – San Francisco, CA @ Bottom of the Hill [tix]
Mon. Dec. 11 – Portland, OR @ Mississippi Studios [tix]
Tue. Dec. 12 – Vancouver, BC @ The Cobalt [tix]
Wed. Dec. 13 – Seattle, WA @ Chop Suey [tix]

I LOVE YOU LIKE A BROTHER TRACKLIST:
01. Every Day’s The Weekend
02. I Love You Like A Brother
03. Perth Traumatic Stress Disorder
04. I Haven’t Been Taking Care Of Myself
05. Backpack
06. Awkward Exchange

07. I Want U

08. Lotto In Reverse

09. Let’s Call It A Day

10. There’s No Money

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, play guitar, music geek, movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Mokita Releases “Til I Don’t”

Born John-Luke Carter, Mokita started playing the piano and at the age of six and …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.