Josh Ritter Announces New Album ‘Gathering’ And Reveals First Single ‘Showboat’

Critically acclaimed singer-songwriter Josh Ritter returns with the announcement of his ninth full-length album ‘Gathering’, out September 22nd on Pytheas Recordings/Thirty Tigers. He will also be heading out with his band ‘The Royal City Band’ this winter, including a date at London’s Shepherds Bush Empire on 5th December.

Speaking of the album Josh Ritter said “I have been writing records for almost twenty years now. Each one has been different from the last in subject and form, but with Gathering I feel I’ve found a new electric dissatisfaction, a new way to rejoice as the storm rolls in”.

Listen to ‘Showboat’ the first track to be taken from the album here –


  1. Shaker Love Song (Leah)

  2. Showboat

  3. Friendamine

  4. Feels Like Lightning

  5. When Will I Be Changed (feat. Bob Weir)

  6. Train Go By

  7. Dreams

  8. Myrna Loy

  9. Interlude

  10. Cry Softly

  11. Oh Lord (Part 3)

  12. Thunderbolt’s Goodnight

  13. Strangers

Josh Ritter & the Royal City Band Play:

December 2— Berlin, DE—Passionskirche

December 3—Nijmegen, NL —Doornroosje

December 4—Amsterdam, NL—Paradiso

December 5—London, UK— O2 Shepherd’s Bush Empire

December 6—Belfast, UK—Mandela Hall

December 7—Dublin, IE—Vicar Street (seated show)

December 8—Dublin, IE—Vicar Street (standing show)

December 10—Limerick, IE—Dolan’s

December 11—Cork, IE—Cork Opera House

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

David Haerle Releases Two Music Videos For “The Free Show” and “Run And Be Free”

Released this May, Death Valley is singer-songwriter David Haerle’s second album following his 2018 debut …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.