Home / News / Wyclef Jean Launches #FelaFootwork Campaign Today + Releases Fela Kuti Lyric Video + Tidal Playlist

Wyclef Jean Launches #FelaFootwork Campaign Today + Releases Fela Kuti Lyric Video + Tidal Playlist

To celebrate the release of his new track “Fela Kuti, ” Wyclef Jean has launched a dance challenge with his song “Fela Kuti” today (now #FelaFriday) to run thru July 21st where he has challenged his fans and his fellow artist friends to show him their ‘#FelaFootwork’.  The track “Fela Kuti” appears on his upcoming album The Carnival III: The Fall and Rise of a Refugee out September 15 via Legacy Recordings.

Participants are encouraged to post videos of themselves dancing to “Fela Kuti” to social platforms including Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and Musical.ly. Once they have posted to a social platform, participants are to send in their videos to felakutifootwork@headsmusic.com. Wyclef will be re-posting the top three videos to his channels, with a video of himself explaining why they are his favorites.

Additionally, Wyclef has released the dynamic lyric video for his track “Fela Kuti” today. Watch here

In the spirit of the celebration, Wyclef has curated a playlist with selections of his favorite Fela Kuti tracks available exclusively via Tidal entitled “Global Gumbo: 16 Fela Kuti Songs You Need To Know.” Listen and read some of Wyclef’s explanations behind his choices here.

Ahead of the Carnival III rollout, Wyclef partnered with Certified Classics, an extension of Legacy Recordings, to commemorate the 20th anniversary of the Carnival and the 10th anniversary of the Carnival II. Certified highlights the impact of key anniversaries of classic Hip Hip and R&B albums, all in an effort to preserve the culture. Learn more at: www.thisiscertified.com

“My Carnival albums have always been about celebrating music culture from all parts of the world and Carnival III is no different,” says Wyclef. “It’s outside the box. There’s genre-bending. There’s new talent on there. Carnival III is more than just an album. It’s a celebration of what I love about music: discovery, diversity and artistry for art’s sake… It’s about putting music together that will outlive me and live on for generations to come that is full of emotion, vibration and fun. Get ready.”

The music that Wyclef Jean has written, performed, and produced — both as a solo superstar and as founder and guiding member of the Fugees — has been a consistently powerful, pop cultural force for over two decades. In 1996, the Fugees released their monumental album The Score. As a solo artist, he has released six albums that have sold nearly nine million copies worldwide, including his 1997 debut The Carnival and 2000’s aptly titled The Eclectic: 2 Sides II a Book.

Carnival III: The Fall and Rise of a Refugee Tracklist:
1. Slums
2. Turn Me Good
3. Borrowed Time
4. Fela Kuti
5. Warrior
6. Shotta Boys
7. Double Dutch
8. What Happened To Love
9. Carry On
10. Concrete Rose
11. Trapicabana
12. Thank God For The Culture

Wyclef Jean Links:

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Queens Rapper MRG Provides A Lesson In Love In Eerie New ‘Brokenhearted’ Video

Dominican-American rapper MRG (Queens, NY native Matthew Raymond Guzmán) shares the striking visuals for his new …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.