Home / News / Nights & Weekends Release “Brick By Brick”

Nights & Weekends Release “Brick By Brick”

Nights & Weekends—the L.A.-based duo of celebrated author Jenny Hollowell and her husband, producer Daron Hollowell (Best Coast, FIDLAR)—premiere “Brick By Brick” today via Billboard, listen here. The track is taken from their debut album Music For Marriage, set for release August 25 via their own label Ring The Alarm. Preorder the album here.

Music For Marriage explores the regret, guilt, longing for understanding and exploration into shared and independent histories that sprung from a time of transition, change and crisis eight years into the Hollowells’ marriage. Career shifts, the challenges of new parenthood, questions of creative fulfillment and struggles with the mundane tasks of everyday life opened up questions in the couple’s relationship that couldn’t be ignored. Rather than seek guidance outside of their relationship, the two started to make music together.

Written over the course of a year, during the time off from everyday duties that the duo’s name implies, the album captures an honest moment in the life of a couple in flux. With 20 songs in hand, the couple approached their friend and L.A. neighbor Adam Samuel Goldman to help them create an album.

“We didn’t set out to make a record, we were just going through this massive series of transitions and needed a creative outlet,” says Daron. Jenny adds, “We started writing these songs as a way to escape, but looking at them now, they’re very much a documentation of the moment we were in, about what it feels like to be new at something, and not entirely in control.”


1. Keep Me In Line
2. Just You Wait
3. Brick By Brick
4. Half Moon Heart
5. Fading Light
6. Brooklyn Star
7. Rent
8. Wish You Well
9. Little Things
10. My Old Friends

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Vic August Releases “Bring Em Out”

Preparing to release his new 7-track EP, “xx” on November 8th, Australian teenage sensation Vic …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.