Liam Gallagher Shares Brand New Track “Chinatown”

The return of Liam Gallagher gathered pace with a sensational show at Glastonbury last weekend. Between Glastonbury, his recent sold-out underplay tour of the U.K./Ireland, and an emotional performance at One Love Manchester, Liam Gallagher has demonstrated that he’s back to his very best. Click here to view and share Gallagher’s performance of “Wall Of Glass” from last weekend’s Glastonbury performance. Click here to view and share an interview with Gallagher from Glastonbury.

Now Gallagher continues to build anticipation for the October 6 release of his debut solo album As You Were by sharing the brand new track “Chinatown” and revealing the album’s tracklisting. Click here for single and album information.

In contrast to the punchy first single “Wall Of Glass,” “Chinatown” is an atmospheric, psychedelic slow burner in which he utilises the more tender side of his inimitable vocal stylings. As a pairing, the two tracks hint at what to expect from As You Were, with Gallagher adding a modern sheen to his passion for a wide range of influences from the 60s and 70s.

After Gallagher ignited the writing process with the heavy duty soul-rock of “Bold,” As You Were was recorded in two locations. Greg Kurstin performed all of the instruments on the four songs that he produced in Los Angeles (“Wall Of Glass,” “Paper Crown,” “Come Back To Me” and the psychedelic whoosh of “It Doesn’t Have To Be That Way”), while Dan Grech-Marguerat produced the remainder of the album at Snap! Studios in London.

“I didn’t want to be reinventing anything or going off on a space jazz odyssey,” says Gallagher. “It’s the Lennon ‘Cold Turkey’ vibe, The Stones, the classics. But done my way, now.”

One of the most striking aspects of As You Were is that all the songs have a purpose. There’s no flab, nothing to cut. They all feel directed at something or someone, setting the record straight or getting his side of the story over, be that the swinging, Bo Diddley-like “Greedy Soul,” which incinerates someone who’s the “ungrateful dead” or the mega-ballad “For What It’s Worth,” which serves up the album’s biggest chorus.


The tracklisting for As You Were:

  1. 1.      Wall Of Glass

  2. 2.      Bold

  3. 3.      Greedy Soul

  4. 4.      Paper Crown

  5. 5.      For What It’s Worth

  6. 6.      When I’m In Need

  7. 7.      You Better Run

  8. 8.      I Get By

  9. 9.      Chinatown

  10. 10.   Come Back To Me

  11. 11.   Universal Gleam

  12. 12.   I’ve All I Need


Bonus tracks on deluxe album editions:

  1. 13.   Doesn’t Have To Be That Way

  2. 14.   All My People / All Mankind

  3. 15.   I Never Wanna Be Like You


The As You Were cover features an iconic new portrait of Liam, which was taken by the influential photographer, fashion designer and creative director Hedi Slimane.

As You Were is now available to pre-order from with “Wall Of Glass” and “Chinatown” provided as an instant download. It will be released on digital (standard and deluxe), CD (standard and deluxe) and vinyl (standard 12″ and limited edition color 12″ formats).

A special boxset is also available from It compiles a color 12″ vinyl of the album, an exclusive 7″ format of “For What It’s Worth,” a print designed by Klaus Voorman (the artist behind The Beatles’ Revolver album cover) and additional collectors’ items.


As previously announced, Liam Gallagher and band will tour North America this fall:

Nov 13             San Francisco, CA        Warfield

Nov 18             Denver, CO                  Gothic

Nov 20             Minneapolis, MN           First Avenue

Nov 21             Chicago, IL                   The Riviera

Nov 23             Toronto, ON                 Rebel

Nov 25             Boston, MA                   House of Blues

Nov 27             New York, NY               Terminal 5

Nov 29             Washington, DC           Lincoln Theatre

Nov 30             Philadelphia, PA            Union Transfer

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also


Following the release of their latest album Chip Chrome & The Mono-Tones, The Neighbourhood has delivered …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.