Home / Entertainment / Entertainment News / HUGEsound Records Presents THE LORD OF THE RINGS ONLINETM 10th Anniversary Commemorative Soundtrack

HUGEsound Records Presents THE LORD OF THE RINGS ONLINETM 10th Anniversary Commemorative Soundtrack

HUGEsound Records will release THE LORD OF THE RINGS ONLINETM 10th Anniversary Commemorative original video game soundtrack through all major digital music outlets worldwide on June 23rd.  The album features the game’s original score by Chance Thomas, an avid lifelong fan of The Lord of the Rings. This 26-song double album features Thomas’ very best work over the past 10 years – music so emotionally nuanced it’s as if it sprang forth from the pages of LotR itself.

“Seeing this collection of music released to the world is like watching a dream come true,” states Thomas. “Who could have imagined such a thing, when I was growing up an obscure and geeky kid in Oklahoma? Each track is performed by classically trained musicians, pouring their passion into fine acoustic instruments. All so skilled, so talented, and so engaged. It is beyond belief to me.”

THE LORD OF THE RINGS ONLINETM has been transporting Tolkien fans to Middle-earth for 10 years, and with that comes the release of this incredible collection of music. Much like the beloved books this extraordinary world is based upon, the music Thomas creates has an immersive, fantastic quality that truly is a perfect companion for anyone who enjoys the world created by J.R.R. Tolkien.

Chance Thomas began writing music for The Lord of the Rings well before Howard Shore tackled the soundtrack for Jackson’s trilogy. He has already contributed to 9 games and expansions spanning a 20-year period, and just started work on a 10th expansion. All of this music – orchestral, choral, and acoustic ensemble music – is completely original and is all based on personal research conducted into the literature by Chance Thomas himself.

When he first began composing music based on The Lord of the Rings, Chance spent months intensely researching the books – eventually running into years – pulling out everything professor Tolkien wrote about music, song, voices, instruments, even the effect that music had on people and environments. He collected these references, sorted through them, organized and then distilled all of his research into a 26-page document which he called The Tolkien Music Style Guide.

For each of the 5 key races in Middle-earth, his Style Guide lists specific instrumental palettes, vocal ranges, stylistic guidelines, even home keys – all based on references and inferences drawn directly from the text.

Disc One:

  1. The House of Tom Bombadil

  2. Moria

  3. Drums in the Deep

  4. Ages of the Golden Wood

  5. Learning to Ride

  6. Horse Lords of Norcrofts

  7. Khazad Dum

  8. Tears of Nimrodel

  9. Urgent Errands

  10. Hills of the Shire

  11. Song of the Dwarves

  12. The Hollin Gate

  13. Calm Before the Storm

Disc Two:

  1. LOTRO Legacy

  2. Theme for Rohan

  3. The Eored

  4. Corruption and High Treason

  5. Rivendell

  6. Chant for Sauron

  7. Boromir’s Last Stand

  8. Shadow of the Argonath

  9. The Entwash Vale

  10. Orc Hunt

  11. The Grey Havens

  12. Party in the Shire

  13. Heart of a Hero

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

‘The Irishman’ and ‘Once Upon a Time in…Hollywood’ Lead the Golden Globe Nominee Pack for Best Picture

“It’s what it is,” Robert DeNiro’s Frank Sheeran warned Al Pacino’s Jimmy Hoffa in director …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.