DEAD ROCK WEST–California Vocal Duo–To Release New ‘MORE LOVE’ Album via Omnivore Recordings August 11

MORE LOVE is the album where it all comes together for DEAD ROCK WEST like never before.

For their fourth album and first for Omnivore Recordings that’s due out August 11, the California vocal duo of Cindy Wasserman and Frank Lee Drennen have joined forces with producer John Doe–of the legendary band X, with whom they’ve toured numerous times–to create an album that places their achingly beautiful signature vocals and harmonies in finely etched rock, alt-country and pop settings.  The sound is both contemporary and timeless. “John brought focus, passion, and experience to the sessions, bringing out a better version of us,” says the duo that’ll perform the day the disc comes out at McCabe’s Guitar Shop in Santa Monica, CA.

MORE LOVE–recorded, mixed and mastered in Los Angeles by multiple Grammy Award winner Dave Way–is comprised of 12 songs about the joy and heartbreak of love.  There are 11 DEAD ROCK WEST originals–among them the joyously infectious first single “Boundless Fearless Love,” “Radio Silence” and “Waiting Patiently“–plus a cover of Sam Cooke‘s Bring It On Home to Me” that thematically closes this deeply felt album. The masterful band on MORE LOVE includes D.J. Bonebrake of X, lead guitarist Elliot Easton of The Cars and ace pedal steel guitarist Greg Leisz.

“This was a group effort; band, singers, engineer, producer all equal, all working toward a common, honest goal,” says John Doe. “All of us in a room making real music, from the heart, from intuition, from aching & wanting, from beauty & the desert.”

MORE LOVE follows the Los Angeles-based duo’s critically hailed tribute album to the Everly Brothers, It’s Everlys Time! (2015), a work that galvanized the group vocally in the studio and onstage at their headline performances as well as on tour with X and Dave Alvin and Phil Alvin. A sample of the praise that DEAD ROCK WEST garnered from outlets such as the Los Angeles Times–which premiered the single and video for the album’s “I Used To Love You”–and Boston Globe is below. “They have combined all of the influences (alt-country, gospel, Everly Bros) from their previous records into this one,” says John Doe. “Great songs. Great playing. Wonderful performances. More Love is heart & soul from two deeply original singers & songwriters.” Doe adds: “Somehow Cindy & Frank connect the dots between ’70 country & ’60 soul music. They are a modern day Gram & Emmylou singing songs that Otis & Carla would sing.”

“These are difficult days and we need more, more love,” says Frank Lee Drennen about the new album. Love never fails,” he adds about “Boundless Fearless Love,” which cuts deep with lyrics like: “I hear it calling in the distance/ I take it on like a boxing champ/Though desolation has no secrets/I still believe the loser stands a chance.”

 “As Willie Dixon said to me when I was blessed to meet him some years ago, all songs are about love,” says Cindy Wasserman. “Happy or sad songs, they are all about love–more love. This record to me is performed and created from the spirit seed of the wonderful Willie Dixon in mind and with all our love.”

DEAD ROCK WEST will support MORE LOVE with tour dates (TBA), videos and live performances including the above-mentioned album release show and this August’s West of the West/Roots On The Rails journey where they will join their friend Dave Alvin and other musicians on an unforgettable musical train ride across the musical heart of America:

MORE LOVE‘s track listing:

  1. More Love (Frank LeeDrennen)

  2. Boundless Fearless Love (Frank Lee Drennen, Gregg Stewart)

  3. Stereo (Frank Lee Drennen, Patrick Michael Dennis)

  4. Radio Silence (Frank Lee Drennen)

  5. Nail Gun (Frank Lee Drennen)

  6. All This Time (Frank Lee Drennen)

  7. Singing on the Telephone (Frank Lee Drennen)

  8. Waiting Patiently (Cindy Wasserman, Frank Lee Drennen, Gregg Stewart)

  9. Darkness Never Tells (Frank Lee Drennen)

  10. Bleeding Blue (Frank Lee Drennen)

  11. Tell Me Goodbye (Cindy Wasserman, Gregg Stewart)

  12. Bring It On Home to Me (Sam Cooke)

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

ARCHITECTS announce an exclusive, worldwide streaming event at The Royal Albert Hall on November 21st – Tickets on sale Friday 23rd October

ARCHITECTS will be performing an exclusive live streaming event from the stunning surrounding of The Royal Albert …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.