Home / News / SMILEY & THE UNDERCLASS Unveil New Video For ‘It’s All England’

SMILEY & THE UNDERCLASS Unveil New Video For ‘It’s All England’

Britain is in chaos. Division, fear and a rabid right-wing press have stifled the unity of the United Kingdom – Brexit rules the day.  As much as politics (or politricks) have divided us, Smiley & The Underclass seek to bring people together with their new single: ‘It’s All England’.

Written on the streets of Camden Town, the record focuses not on ideological warfare, but on the country in which they live. The good, the bad and the ugly. No matter where you’re from, as long as you walk with love, it’s all England.

Watch Smiley and the Underclass kick over the statues now : https://youtu.be/INR3JuWzTaI

‘It’s All England’ is taken from Smiley & The Underclass’ incendiary debut album Rebels Out There the soundtrack to a revolution that speaks for People, Planet and Positivity.

Smiley & The Underclass are a London band as only a London band can be, four nomads from different points of the compass, they are a rebel shout from a world on fire, a musical call-to-arms invoking a passion and honesty rarely seen in these times of cardboard cut-out pop-pollution.

Infused with the bass-heavy vibrations of Roots and Dub music, and the deadly concoction of lyrics and guitars reminiscent of The Clash and Bob Dylan, Smiley sings the revolution blues with a burning fire largely missing from today’s music scene.  Heavyweight horns punktuate the skank of urgent guitars driven by relentless rhythms that are guaranteed to move ideas and dance halls across the UK.

The Underclass are Punky Reggae monsters, with catchy tunes and skanks sliced together with mind-altering garage guitars.  As catchy as Arctic Monkeys but South of the border, as young and endearing as Jake Bugg, but unadulterated by pop and as cool as King Krule but with a rootikal injection; The urgency is real and carries a climate conscious message powerful enough to awaken all punk rockers and roots rebels in this modern era.

With a debut EP under their belt, the band are lying in wait with their first album, Rebels Out There. Produced by the legendary Nick Manasseh and recorded at Mick Jones of The Clash’s studio, expect heavy detonation, a musical explosion to shake the core of the UK.

Smiley & The Underclass don’t like to ‘beat people over the heads’ with the lyrics on the new album and made a conscious effort to not use any names, because “that ages everything” – Smiley explains “I remember listening to ‘Taxman’ by the Beatles and wondering who Mr. Wilson and Mr. Heath were. It’s the same with talking about David Cameron, Theresa May or even Trump. The themes are there and are pretty obvious for anyone who’s willing to listen: environmental apocalypse, inequality, the death of reason and the rise of bullshit. The weird thing was that we wrote the album before the Brexit vote and the US elections. We were singing about building walls and making truth long before these arseholes came and turned reality on it’s head.”

Smiley & The Underclass is made up of a spaced-out, vibesed-up bass player, a white Rastaman on deadly lead guitar, a bionic Japanese punk on drums, and a singer possessed with the spirit of musical righteousness, here to spread a positive message on issues like climate change, consumerism, inequality and racism.

With revolution on the cards and social unrest all over, Smiley & The Underclass capture the spirit of the times and Rebels Out There is a clarion call for the disenfranchised.

The soundtrack to the revolution is here. All you have to do is tune in….

REBELS OUT THERE track listing

  1. Its All England.

  2. Rebels Out There

  3. Truth & Rights

  4. Now You Know

  5. Another Kind Of Human.

  6. Want Stuff / Make Stuff.

  7. Machiavelli Blues.

  8. Babylon Is Spiralling Out Of Control.

  9. No One’s Getting Out.

  10. Jump The Barrier

To pre-order Rebels Out There go to :  https://smileyandtheunderclass.bandcamp.com/album/rebels-out-there

Smiley & The Underclass Tour Dates 


26th Bearded Theory Festival 2017 Walton On Trent

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Rare Americans Drop Video for “Same Boat We Row”

The rockers that make up Rare Americans are up-and-comers─ but you’d never even know it. …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.