Against Me! Announce Extensive Fall North American Headline Tour

Celebrated American rock band Against Me! have announced its fall North American headline tour in support of its critically acclaimed studio album, Shape Shift With Me. After spending a month supporting Green Day on its Revolution Radio tour, Against Me! will be touring the U.S. and Canada again this year throughout September and October with supports Bleached and The Dirty Nil. The tour will begin on Saturday, September 2 at the Garrick Theatre in Winnipeg, MB and visit markets such as Vancouver, BC on Friday, September 8, San Francisco, CA on Wednesday, September 13, Los Angeles, CA on Thursday, September 14, Dallas, TX on Saturday, September 23, Chicago, IL on Saturday, September 30, Toronto, ON on Friday, October 6, Brooklyn, NY on Saturday, October 14, Nashville, TN on Friday, October 20, and culminate in a headlining appearance at The Fest in Gainesville, FL on Saturday, October 28. A complete listing of dates can be found below with tickets going on sale this Friday, May 12. More information can be found on Against Me!’s official website,

Shape Shift With Me, Against Me!’s seventh full-length studio album, has the distinction of the first album frontwoman Laura Jane Grace has written truly from the heart, with no metaphorical cloaks cast over the lyrics. It’s an album about love, that deceptively complex emotion we all struggle with yet has somehow eluded most of Grace’s songwriting for the past 20 years. Recorded, mixed and engineered by Marc Jacob Hudson (Taking Back Sunday, Saves The Day) at Rancho Recordo, Shape Shift With Me is available now physically and digitally via the band’s own Total Treble label (iTunes, Amazon).

“Tons of people have written about love. But while love is cliché, it’s infinitely relevant,” Grace says. “For me, having always been in a punk band that was expected to be political, I never felt like I had that option to write about feelings in that way. That’s what I ended up being drawn to this time. It’s writing in a way I thought I could never write before, and not giving a shit about expectations.”

As such, Shape Shift With Me is a loose concept album about traveling the world and falling in and out of love, with Grace serving as the narrator. But even though she was opening herself up to new songwriting topics, she knew what her mission was from the start.

“Is there a record that is about relationships from a trans perspective?” she asks rhetorically. “There needs to be more records about trans rights and everything like that, but feeling like I already did that, I wanted to move on to write commentary on living from a trans perspective. I wanted to write the transgender response to the Rolling Stones’ Exile On Main St., Liz Phair’s Exile In Guyville and the Streets’ A Grand Don’t Come For Free. All those records are relationship records. There’s been an infinite amount of records talking about what love means from a cisgender perspective. I wanted to present the trans perspective on sex, love and heartbreak.”

In a career already full of classic punk records, Shape Shift With Me feels like the definitive Against Me! album—it’s poppy and catchy (“Rebecca,” “Suicide Bomber”), aggressive and in-your-face (“ProVision L-3,” “Dead Rats”), sentimental and longing [Crash,” “All This (And More”)]. Moreover, it’s the culmination of four years of existence as Laura Jane Grace—there’s no going back now, so she might as well embrace it.

“While I’ve always wanted the moon and the stars, I have a certain amount of humbleness,” she admits. “I just want to play shows and make records and write songs. That’s what I’ve always wanted to do. Of course I always want the biggest and best things for those shows and records and songs, but when it comes down to it, I just love doing it. I have no other ambitions or career goals.”

Against Me! will be making the following North American headline appearances with Bleached and The Dirty Nil supporting. Tour dates below.

02 – Winnipeg, MB – Garrick Theatre *
03 – Saskatoon, SK – Louis’ Pub *
05 – Edmonton, AB – Union Hall *
06 – Calgary, AB – Marquee Room *
08 – Vancouver, BC – Vogue Theatre *
09 – Seattle, WA – Showbox at the Market *
10 – Portland, OR – Wonder Ballroom *
12 – Sacramento, CA – Ace of Spades *
13 – San Francisco, CA – Regency Ballroom *
14 – Los Angeles, CA – The Fonda Theatre *
15 – Pomona, CA – The Glass House *
16 – San Diego, CA – The Observatory-North Park *
19 – Albuquerque, NM – Sunshine Theater *
21 – El Paso, TX – Tricky Falls *
22 – San Antonio, TX – Paper Tiger *
23 – Dallas, TX – Granada Theater *
24 – Houston, TX – White Oak Music Hall *
26 – Oklahoma City, OK – Diamond Ballroom *
27 – St. Louis, MO – The Ready Room *
30 – Chicago, IL – Concord Music Hall *

01 – Detroit, MI – Majestic Theatre *
03 – Cincinnati, OH – Bogart’s *
04 – Cleveland, OH – House of Blues *
05 – Buffalo, NY – The Waiting Room *
06 – Toronto, ON – The Phoenix *
07 – Montreal, QC – Corona Theatre *
08 – Pittsburgh, PA – Mr. Small’s Theatre *
10 – Boston, MA – Paradise Lounge *
12 – Philadelphia, PA – Union Transfer *
13 – Washington, DC – 9:30 Club *
14 – Brooklyn, NY – Brooklyn Steel *
15 – Asbury Park, NJ – The Stone Pony *
17 – Norfolk, VA – Norva Theater *
18 – Charlotte, NC – Neighborhood Theatre *
20 – Nashville, TN – The Cannery Ballroom *
21 – Asheville, NC – The Orange Peel *
22 – Atlanta, GA – CenterStage *
24 – Ft. Lauderdale, FL – Culture Room *
28 – Gainesville, FL – The Fest – Bo Diddley Plaza

* = headline shows with Bleached and The Dirty Nil supporting

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also


Nashville-based singer-songwriter, Meaghan Farrell, has released her new single, “My Anarchy,” through Noble Steed Music.  …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.