Home / Exclusive Material / PREMIERE: Flyjack Release New Single

PREMIERE: Flyjack Release New Single

 As we kick off another premiere week, we are moving not only to a whole new location but time as well as Flyjack brings the Soul and Funk of the 70s, those who made the likes of James Brown what he is today.

New Day leads off with crate-digger’s gold “It’s a New Day” – a racial protest song originally recorded and released in 1973 by the Skull Snaps on the tiny GSF label. The song’s call-to-action resonated with Flyjack – particularly in the wake of recent events like the Women’s March and the protests against President Trump’s anti-immigration executive orders. The Skull Snaps’ original is probably best known for its opening drumbreak – which has been sampled on countless records by everyone from Gang Starr to Ol’ Dirty Bastard to DJ Shadow.  However, the song has never been covered in its entirety until now.  Flyjack’s version is decidedly psychedelic – with a heavy percussion breakdown followed by an echo-drenched Ernie Isley-ish guitar solo, and a call-and-answer to close-out the piece.

New Day will be released on McKinney’s Bean Pie Records on March 31. This is the band’s third record, and first full length LP. Members include Buck McKinney (Guitars, Vocals, Percussion), Brad Bradburn (Bass Vocals) – both of whom hail from Austin-based acid-jazz group Gnappy, which released 3 well-received albums between 2001 and 2006, and was featured in the 2003 book Jambands by Dean Budnick.  Flyjack is rounded out by Nigel Finely (Keyboards, Vocals), Andy Rumelt (Keyboards, Harmonica), Jeremy Portwood (Drums), Ari Dvorin (Sax) and Mike Shields (Trumpet).

Flyjack will be touring regionally in support of New Day. Live shows will feature a 10-piece band, including Canales on Congas, and newest members Wyatt Corder (Trumpet) and Will Wright (Trombone) – both from Austin’s Big Wy’s Brass Band.

Flyjack’s mission is twofold – to resurrect rare groove classics while energizing a new generation of music-lovers.

Track listing:

  • It’s a New Day

  • Motherlode

  • Soulful Proclamation

  • Flame Thrower

  • The Jungle

  • Everybody Has Some Dues to Pay

  • The Worm

  • Gossip

  • Steam Train

  • Funky Fast Bump

  • Plums

  • The Master




About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Julia Haltigan Unleashes “Bad Habit”

Julia Haltigan’s new album, Trouble, is a poetic collection strapped with primal rock n’ roll guitar …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.