‘Music Inspired By The Motion Picture Ghost In The Shell’ Out March 31 w Exclusive Tracks From DJ Shadow, Above & Beyond, Gary Numan, Boys Noize, Johnny Jewel and more

From the pages of the original 1989 Japanese manga by iconic Masamune Shirow to the 2017 Paramount Pictures, DreamWorks Pictures and Reliance Entertainment’ big screen adaptation of Ghost in the Shell starring Scarlett Johansson as its heroine, this immortal tale seamlessly lends itself to the ebb and flow of electronic music. 2017’s official soundtrack album, Music Inspired By The Motion Picture Ghost In The Shell [Paramount Pictures via Kobalt Music Recordings]–due out on March 31–threads together 12 tracks elegantly befitting of Major‘s unpredictable cybernetic war and personal journey to uncover the secrets behind her dark past.

Pre-order for the album launches today, March 17 at: https://ghostintheshell.lnk.to/album

The world of Ghost In The Shell naturally echoes with a synthesis of automated sounds, industrialized textures and cyberpunk artistry. Fans get a taste of music from this inspired by album immediately upon pre-order with the Steve Aoki 21st century remix  of Kenji Kawai‘s original theme from the 1995 anime entitled “UTAI IV-Reawakening” and the slinky buzz and pop composition  “Escape” from revered vanguard, trip-hop godfather Tricky (the latter of which made its debut yesterday via Pitchfork).

Listen to Tricky’s “Escape” now here: https://youtu.be/Bo-CmxkjVOE

The record assembles a cadre of electronic icons from some of today’s leading acts such as Steve Aoki and Above & Beyond to pioneers including Gary Numan, Tricky and DJ Shadow. To quietly introduce this powerhouse compilation, Richmond, VA producer and remix wizard Ki: Theory covered Depeche Mode‘s “Enjoy The Silence. With its stark and stirring transmissions of vocal emotion and production magic, the song soundtracked the film’s very first trailer, which cumulatively amassed over 30 million YouTube views in just under four months.

Elsewhere, German producer and DJ Boys Noize delivers an ominous synth romp in the form of “Cathryn’s Peak, which segues from a delicate build into a hypnotic harmony. Chart-dominating GRAMMY® Award-nominated English trance maestros Above & Beyond contribute the subtle, yet sharp classically-induced dreamscape of “Surge,and Johnny Jewel explores a myriad of dark aural corners with “The Hacker,”  “Free Fall” and “The Key.Adding his own flare, DJ Shadow treads through the melancholic melodies of “Scars” [feat. Nils Frahm]. Finally, a Gary Numan gem “Bed of Thorns” fits snugly within this cross-generational dance music mosaic.

The complete track listing for Music Inspired By The Motion Picture Ghost In The Shell is:

01) Kenji Kawai- “Utai IV Reawakening” (Steve Aoki remix)

02) Johnny Jewel – “The Hacker”

03) Boys Noize – “Cathryn’s Peak”

04) DJ Shadow ft. Nils Frahm – “Scars”

05) Above & Beyond – “Surge”

06) IO Echo – “Aokigahara Forest” (Album Only)

07) Tricky – “Escape”

08) Ki: Theory – “Enjoy The Silence” (Album Only)

09) Johnny Jewel – “Free Fall”

10) Gary Numan – “Bed Of Thorns”

11) Johnny Jewel – “The Key”

12) Kenji Kawai- “Utai IV Reawakening”

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also


On December 7th, preeminent global theatrical distributor Abramorama will host the North American streaming premiere of the documentary film, PJ …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.