Home / News / Nottingham Pop Punk Catch Fire Release Cracking New Single From Forthcoming EP ‘A Love That I Still Miss’

Nottingham Pop Punk Catch Fire Release Cracking New Single From Forthcoming EP ‘A Love That I Still Miss’

“It represents the metaphor of feeling like at any moment, the thin ice that you sense you are on, is going to break and you’ll begin to sink,” states Catch Fire vocalist Miles Kent of their new video single ‘Thin Ice’, which can be seen here. He contines, “It’s about knowing that you’ll never be enough for someone no matter how often they assure you that you are and being forever indebted to their kindness. It’s our favourite track and it definitely means the most to us. It’s also the saddest song on the EP.” The EP in question is sophomore ‘A Love That I Still Miss’, set for release via Rude Records on 24th March, with pre-orders available here.

Catch Fire, completed by guitarists Tim Bell and Neal Arkley, drummer Ash Wain and bassist Joseph Ryan Askew released their debut EP The Distance I Am From You via Rude Records in early 2016, after forming from the ashes of local heroes Layby. For A Love That I Still Miss, the quartet immediately began writing, feeling less pressure than on their debut: “We knew we had to put something out that people would notice so that we could get our foot in the door. I’m not saying that we’ve gotten complacent now, as it’s quite the opposite. What I am saying, is that now we have a few people’s attention, we show them what we’re about and we definitely feel as if these songs say more about us than anything we’ve released before.”

Ready to lay down their demos, the guys entered the studio for 3 weeks, opting to work with Myroslav Borys at Jigsaw Audio, having developed a good chemistry with the producer during the recording for December 2016’s cover of Alessia Cara’s Wild Things. The resultant 5 tracks tackle a myriad of emotions, with Kent revealing their aim: “Since I can remember, I’ve spent every day worrying more often than not, about something. Whether it’s been something trivial or something that might not even happen, or something important, I dwelled on them far too much. Needless to say it’s been pointless, it’s done nothing for me whatsoever. So, I wanted us to put something out, to which anyone else feeling troubled could find comfort in, and that it will help them realise that there really is no point stressing over things.” Continuing to wear their hearts on their sleeves the band comment: “This EP is the best we have to offer. It’s a product of sleepless nights and restless days, spent spilling our thoughts and ideas onto a blank canvas. We just hope people like it.” If you’re a fan of emo-tinged pop punk, with intricate guitars and driving rhythm, evoking Trash Boat and Knuckle Puck, then you’ll certainly be adding your firm tick to the ‘yes’ column.  

A Love That I Still Miss Tracklisting: 1. Poise | 2. Curfew (ft. Wes Thompson) | 3. Sylvester | 4. Lucid | 5. Reality | 6. Guilty As Charged | 7. Thin Ice | 8. Sinking

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Cameron Bloomfield unveils heartfelt new single ‘Another Man’s Woman’

London-based singer-songwriter Cameron Bloomfield returns with soulful new track ‘Another Man’s Woman’, his second single in as many …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.