Hip-hop lyricist Terrence Spectacle celebrates the release of “One Summer Night” on March 31 at Cinderblock

Hip-hop lyricist Terrence Spectacle is set to release his sophomore EP “One Summer Night” in the form of an EP release party at Cinderblock. The new project seems Spectacle venturing away from his first album’s sound with electronic, sonic-infused flair. Spectacle will showcase his talents on stage after performances by two special guests to be announced. Doors open at 7 p.m. with live music starting at 8 p.m. The event is free to attend and welcome to all ages. Cinderblock is located at 4622 E. Grand Ave., Dallas, Texas 75223.

“‘One Summer Night’ is the culmination of years’ worth of growth, condensed into cross genres, rapping, and singing, he says. “The live band experience allowed me to peel back layers of my own artistry, giving me the freedom to do as I please.” It’s a freedom he’s taken and run with, though Spectacle will always embrace the roots that got him where he is today.

Audiences will get to see the spectacle of the new EP on full display, as the alternative hip-hop artist relives a year in his life through each song on the project. Terrence literally grew up to music: His mother played classical music all throughout her pregnancy, and Spectacle participated in theater, choir and band in elementary school in his hometown of Detroit. After moving to Dallas for high school Spectacle performed his first live solo shows at the DaVerse Lounge downtown. At the same time, a good friend of his, Zachary Moon, suggested he join an upstart hip-hop, spoken word duo. They didn’t stay a duo for long: The group grew into a collective of rap artists, and Spectacle learned from his group members as he started to come into his own as an artist.

After years of honing his craft, Spectacle stepped into the limelight with his debut EP, “NuDallas,” in 2014. He’s since shared the stage with the likes of Tory Lanez, Big Sean, The Internet, KYLE and Shwayze. “NuDallas” was released during a run with a different label, and while he’s proud of the work he’s produced, he’s eager to show the world his refined chops and style. In particular, he singles out two tracks that represent his creative glow-up: “Lone Dirt Road” and “Blinded.”

“The first single, Lone Dirt Road, is my curveball. It’s what nobody ever expected me to create,” he says. “The second single, Blinded, is my most sincere soliloquy yet. It’s my conversation with my past dilemmas in fairy tale-fashion.” While he is excited about what the project means for his career going forward, he knows that he couldn’t have done it without a stellar team-a team he’ll be leaning on in the years to come.

DEFDISCO signee and producer, Ishmael Davison, aka Ish D, was among the first in the scene to take note of his music, and expressed a desire to collaborate.

“We stayed in touch throughout the years, and eventually I took a leap of faith, and trusted him with what would become ‘One Summer Night,'” Spectacle said. The five-track EP spans a year in the artist’s life in which he rose to prominence and released his first album, but it is by no means a happy record.

“Terrence is a really rare kind of artist,” said Ish D, “He knows what he wants and how he wants it, which makes my job producing him that much easier, he definitely has star power.”

One Summer Night,” out on Friday, March 31, was recorded at Alpha and Omega recording studios in Fort Worth, produced by Ish D, mixed by Dallas’ own Christopher Bilik, aka “OZ The Wizard,” and mastered by Gary Long from Nomad Recording Studios in Carrollton.

Spectacle was happy to re-team with engineer Long, who has worked with Spectacle since his 2014 debut.

“When I brought him this group of songs in late 2016, his response was that I’d found the missing piece,” Spectacle said. “He saw the potential that I held listening and fine tuning earlier records, but agreed that I had gone into the future, found what I was missing, and came back earlier than expected with everything put together.”

To purchase or listen to “One Summer Night,” available on March 31, please visit the artist’s website, iTunes, Spotify, Tidal, Apple Music or SoundCloud. The EP will be available for pre-sale on iTunes starting Friday, March 24. For more information about Terrence Spectacle, please visit http://terrencespectacle.com/.

Track Listing:

1. One Summer Night (3:40)

2. Lone Dirt Road (4:03)

3. Blinded (4:32)

4. Neck of My Woods (3:26)

5. Clarity (4:14)

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Floorbird Release New EP ‘Fall Apart Anywhere’

Philadelphia emo/punk quartet Floorbird have premiered a new music video. “Pale Blue Dot” is taken from Floorbird’s …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.