Home / News / Mac DeMarco Announces New Album (Out May 5) & Tour; Shares Two Lead Singles

Mac DeMarco Announces New Album (Out May 5) & Tour; Shares Two Lead Singles

Mac DeMarco (aka 26-year old MacBriare Samuel Lanyon DeMarco) will release, This Old Dog, his third album and first full-length since 2014’s Salad Days, on May 5th via Captured Tracks. In conjunction with today’s album announcement, DeMarco is announcing a North American tour and sharing two lead singles — “My Old Man” and “This Old Dog.” They are the album’s openers and right off the bat, they show a new sonic direction and a glimpse into the very personal nature of this record.

It was a little space—in time, location (he moved from Queens to Los Angeles), and method—that inspired DeMarco while making This Old Dog. Arriving in California with a grip of demos he’d written in New York, he realized after a few months of setting up his new shop that the gap was giving him perspective. DeMarco says, “I demoed a full album, and as I was moving to the West Coast I thought I’d get to finishing it quickly. But then I realized that moving to a new city, and starting a new life takes time. Usually I just write, record, and put it out; no problem. But this time, I wrote them and they sat. When that happens, you really get to know the songs. It was a different vibe.”

DeMarco wrote some demos for This Old Dog on an acoustic guitar, an eye-opening method for him. “The majority of this album is acoustic guitar, synthesizer, some drum machine, and one song is electric guitar. So this is a new thing for me.”

And from the outset, from the pops and clicks of the CR-78 and acoustic strums on the album-opening “My Old Man,” and the synth-drenched beauty of the second track, “This Old Dog,” it’s clear that DeMarco’s bag is filled with new tricks indeed. This Old Dog is rooted more in a synth-base than any of his previous releases, but he is careful not to let that tactic overshadow the other instruments and overall “unplugged” mood of the work. “This is my acoustic album, but it’s not really an acoustic album at all. That’s just what it feels like, mostly. I’m Italian, so I guess this is an Italian rock record.”

Mac DeMarco’s This Old Dog is available for pre-order now. All iTunes pre-orders come with Instrumentals of This Old Dog and instant grat downloads of lead singles, “My Old Man,” and “This Old Dog.”

Listen To This Old Dog’s Lead Singles:

“This Old Dog” —
https://youtu.be/-fKLy0uKL3Y
https://soundcloud.com/capturedtracks/mac-demarco-this-old-dog/s-MRy1j

“My Old Man” —
https://youtu.be/utdidBGSw5s
https://soundcloud.com/capturedtracks/mac-demarco-my-old-man/s-0aGOu

This Old Dog Tracklisting:
1. My Old Man
2. This Old Dog
3. Baby You’re Out
4. For the First Time
5. One Another
6. Still Beating
7. Sister
8. Dreams From Yesterday
9. A Wolf Who Wears Sheeps Clothes
10. One More Love Song
11. On the Level
12. Moonlight on the River
13. Watching Him Fade Away

Mac DeMarco Tour Dates:
Fri. March 3 – Okeechobee, FL @ Okeechobee Music & Arts Festival
Fri. March 24 – Boise, ID @ Treefort Music Festival
Sat. March 25 – Boise, ID @ Treefort Music Festival
Fri. Apr. 14 – Indio, CA @ Coachella Valley Music and Arts Festival
Fri. Apr. 21 – Indio, CA @ Coachella Valley Music and Arts Festival
Tue. May 9 – Burlington, VT @ Higher Ground Burlington *
Thu. May 11 – Montreal, QB @ Metropolis *
Sat. May. 13 – Toronto, ON @ Danforth Theater *
Sun. May. 14 – Royal Oak, MI @ Royal Oak Music Theatre *
Mon. May. 15 – Cleveland, OH @ House of Blues – Cleveland *
Tue. May. 16 – Chicago, IL @ Vic Theatre *
Wed. May. 17 – Nashville, TN @ Marathon Music Works *
Fri. May. 19 – Sun. May 21 – Gulf Shores, AL @ Hangout Music Festival at Gulf Shores Beach
Sat. May. 20 – Atlanta, GA @ The Tabernacle *
Sun. May. 21 – Asheville, NC @ Highland Brewing Company *
Mon. May. 22 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Mr. Small’s Theater *
Tue. May. 23 – Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club *
Fri. May 26  – Sun. May 28 – Allston, MA @ Boston Calling Music Festival at Harvard Athletic Fields
Tue. May 30 – London, UK @ O2 Academy Brixton – Sold Out
Wed. May 31 – London, UK @ O2 Academy Brixton
Fri. June 2 – Barcelona, ES @ Primavera Sound
Sun. June 4 – New York, NY @ Governor’s Ball at Randall’s Island Park
Wed. Aug. 9 – Copenhagen, DK @ Den Graa Hal
Thu. Aug. 10 – Oslo, NO @ Oya Festival
Fri. Aug. 11 – Gothenburg, SE @ Way Out West
Sun. Aug. 13 – Prague, CZ @ Meet Factory
Mon. Aug. 14 – Budapest, HU @ Sziget Festival
Tue. Aug. 15 – Vienna, AT @ Arena
Fri. Aug. 18 – Biddinghuizen, NE @ Lowlands Festival
Sun. Aug. 20 – Saint Malo, FR @ La Route du Rock
Wed. Aug. 23 – Zurich, CH @ Zurich Open Air Festival
Tue. Aug. 29 – Newcastle, UK @ The Academy
Wed. Aug. 30 – Edinburgh, UK @ Usher Hall
Fri. Sep. 8 – Berkeley, CA @ Greek Theater
Sat. Sep. 9 – Portland, OR @ Oregon Zoo Amphitheatre
Sun. Sep. 10 – Seattle, WA @ Moore Theatre
Tue. Nov. 7 – Hamburg, DE @ Grunspan
Wed. Nov. 8 – Berlin, DE @ Astra
Fri. Nov. 10 – Cologne, DE @ Kantine
Wed. Nov. 22 – Dublin, IE @ Vicar Street
Thu. Nov. 30 – Amsterdam, NE @ Paradiso

* = with Tonstartssbandht

Pre-order This Old Dog:
Physical — www.omnianmusicgroup.com/products/this-old-dog
Digital — smarturl.it/thisolddog

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

BOWLING FOR SOUP ANNOUNCE FALL CO-HEADLINE TOUR WITH LESS THAN JAKE

Continuing their year-long 25th anniversary celebration, pop-punk trailblazers Bowling For Soup have announced they’ll be teaming up …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.