British rock band Mallory Knox reveal the video for their new single “Better Off Without You,” from their forthcoming third album Wired, available everywhere March 10 via Columbia Records. Watch “Better Off Without You” here:

Written about the prescription drug Citalopram, used to treat anxiety and depression, “Better Off Without You” was born out of bassist Sam Douglas’ frustration towards a doctor who took a particularly lax approach to his treatment. The dark, unnerving video follows a patient held at the mercy of a team of crooked doctors, forced through intense chemical tests against his will. The cold, clinical tone mirrors the intense feeling of helplessness associated with anxiety; this, matched with a characteristically fiery performance from the band, creates perhaps their most emotive, thought-provoking video to date.

Speaking about the video, frontman Mikey Chapman says: “For many, going to a doctor and speaking about an illness of the mind can be a difficult thing and can require great courage – to accept and admit you no longer have full control of your own thoughts and feelings. To be given a pill and told to ‘see how it goes’ or made to wait months to talk for 10 minutes to a professional is the reality many face. The quick fix mentality of society may work for some, but leaves others more isolated and desperate than ever before. We wanted to address this in our own way.”

In just five years, Mallory Knox have firmly established themselves at the forefront of modern British rock. The Cambridge five-piece (named after the character in Natural Born Killers) released three BBC Radio 1 A-Listed singles on their last album, 2014’s Asymmetry, which reached #16 on the Official Albums Chart in the UK. The band sold out London’s 3,700-capacity Roundhouse during a headline tour in support of Asymmetry, in addition to playing the main stages of Reading and Leeds Festivals and Download Festival. Stateside, the band has toured with Pierce The Veil and Sleeping With Sirens in addition to playing Warped Tour in 2015.

This year, the band will embark on an extensive UK headline tour, including two nights at London’s Koko, with further dates to be announced later in the year. Visit for more details.

Wired Track Listing:

1. Giving It Up

2. California

3. Wired

4. For You

5. Midnight

6. Better Off Without You

7. Falling in Love

8. Lucky Me

9. Saviour

10. Come Back Around

11. Mother

Connect with Mallory Knox:
Spotify | iTunes | VEVO | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Goldbrg Releases New Single ‘Feel This Good’

Goldbrg has quickly gone onto amass an engaging audience across a multitude of Facebook groups …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.