Home / News / Lauren Hoffman & The Secret Storm Share “Sick With Love” Video + LP Out Today

Lauren Hoffman & The Secret Storm Share “Sick With Love” Video + LP Out Today

Virginia-based vintage rock act, Lauren Hoffman & The Secret Storm, release their new album Family Ghost today. The debut album from Lauren Hoffman’s latest incarnation, the band melds her previous albums’ angst over love, relationships, and expectations into a powerful, cathartic release. A whirl of cabaret, broken ballads, and indie rock, Family Ghost is a collection of heart-bending narratives that double as emotional exorcism.

In celebration of release, Lauren Hoffman & The Secret Storm share their “Sick With Love” video with PureVolume today.  Raw in emotion yet cinematic in scope, Lauren comments:

“When I wrote Sick With Love, I was living in New York and I was heartbroken. I was so crushed it was like I was in mourning. I felt out of time and out of place in this city where everyone had a place to be and something to do. So I conceived the video from that feeling, of being out of time, out of place, out of step… while the rest of the world seems so busy and purposeful.”

Family Ghost is an 11-track collection that demonstrates Lauren Hoffman & The Secret Storm’s unique, multi-dimensional brand of atmospheric, dark rock. The group includes guitarist Tony Lechmanski (Bella Morte), cello-violinist Cathy Monnes (Sally Rose Band), bassist Jeff Diehm (The Last Dance), keyboardist Ethan Lipscomb, and new drummer Kevin Ardrey.  On previous albums, Lauren would bring a demo version of a song to a recording session, where she and longtime producer John Morand would start building on the framework. For this album, that relationship expanded to include the rest of the band members, resulting in a layered, multi-dimensional finished product. Thanks to this diverse band, one of the most remarkable qualities the album is its sonic push-pull, with no two tracks sounding the same.

In celebration of album release, Lauren Hoffman & The Secret Storm will play a hometown show in Charlottesville, VA tonight (January 27) at The Southern. Stay tuned for more!

Family Ghost Tracklist
1. Don’t Look Back
2. Feel It All
3. Let The Waves Crash On Me
4. Sick With Love
5. In The Sun
6. I Just Broke Up With A Guy Who Looks Kinda Like You
7. Family Ghost
8. Fast Lane
9. Broken
10. The Dragon
11. Til It Lasts

Website // Facebook // Twitter // Instagram // Youtube // Soundcloud

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Easy Life Release New Single ‘Nice Guys.’ Announce North American Tour. Sign To Interscope in the U.S

Today, British band Easy Life have unveiled their brilliant new single ‘Nice Guys,’ along with the news of their …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.