Five Alarm Funk Announces New Album ‘Sweat’ out March 3

Vancouver-based groove masters FIVE ALARM FUNK will return this spring with their sixth full-length albumSweat will be released in Canada and the U.S. on March 3. This release is the latest in a string of projects that has earned the eclectic 8-pieceJuno nomination and several Western Canadian Music AwardsSweat is produced by Ben Kaplan (Rise Against, Mother Mother, Biffy Clyro), who also worked with FIVE ALARM FUNK on their 2014 release Abandon Earth.

Sweat is the culmination of over a decade of writing and playing music together,” drummer/vocalist Tayo Branston explains. “It’s by far the hottest, funkiest work we have ever created!”

Beginning this Friday, January 27, fans can pre-order the album on iTunes and receive the track “DDPP” as an instant grat. Listen now to an exclusive preview of “DDPP” here.

“We have all literally given blood, sweat and tears to this project which is why we named it Sweat,” Tayo adds. “The album artwork represents us preparing for battle. When we hit the stage, that’s how we approach it. Once we hit it, we give it everything we’ve got, every time!”

Over a decade into creating music, FIVE ALARM FUNK–Tayo Branston (drums/vocals), Gabe Boothroyd (guitar), Oliver Gibson (guitar), Jason Smith (bass), Thomas Towers (congas), Carl Julig (timbales), Eli Bennett (saxophone) and Kent Wallace (trumpet)–remains as impossible as ever to put into a box. Although they are rooted in the style that gives the outfit its name, FIVE ALARM FUNK thrives on being able to transcend genre by seamlessly mixing in elements of gypsy rock, Afro-funk, Latin, ska, punk and even prog-metal.

“I would say that it’s intense, passionate, and fun, genre-spanning music that really anybody can get onboard with,” Tayo explains. “It’s got such an array of different sounds, and you can tell that each player has his own individual take and input into each track.”

FIVE ALARM FUNK will be hitting the road in support of Sweat; U.S. dates will be announced in the coming months. The live experience is where the collective really shines–hot, sweaty dance floors with feet stomping and everybody moving. FIVE ALARM FUNK has taken their relentless and unforgettable live show to clubs and major festivals across Canada and the United States for over a decade; some highlights include the Ottawa Jazz Festival, Saskatoon Jazz Festival, Sunfest, and Summer Meltdown in Washington State. The band recently released a live DVD/album called LIVE In The Moment. A clip of them performing “Gods (May The Funk Be With You)” can be seen here.


Track listing for Sweat:

  1. Widowmaker

  2. DDPP

  3. Sweat

  4. Capital City

  5. Ill Wind

  6. Iceberg

  7. Freight Train

  8. Power Of Funk

  9. Humans

  10. Gods (May The Funk Be With You)

  11. Hot Damn

  12. 10,000 Scarabs

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

PREMIERE: Sugarcane Release New Single “Clear Blue Sky”

After leaving the Library, Robin went travelling in South America, and came back bewitched by …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.