Conor Oberst Announces New Album ‘Salutations’

Conor Oberst will release a new album, Salutations, on Nonesuch Records, on March 17, 2017.

The album is a companion piece to 2016’s lauded Ruminations. When Oberst wrote and recorded the songs on Ruminations, entirely solo – with just voice, piano, guitar and harmonica – he intended to ultimately record them with a full band. In the midst of putting together that band – upstate New York’s The Felice Brothers plus the legendary drummer Jim Keltner (Neil Young, Jackson Browne, George Harrison, Bob Dylan, John Lennon, and many more) – the passionate responses Oberst was getting to those first solo recordings, from friends and colleagues, encouraged him to release the songs as-is, in their original sparse form, as his seventh solo album: Ruminations, which was released in October 2016. “

Meanwhile, Oberst simultaneously moved ahead with his plans to record with the band, heading to the famed Shangri-la Studios in Malibu to record Salutations – co-produced with Keltner and engineered by long-time musical compadre Andy LeMaster. Guest contributions come courtesy of Jim James, Blake Mills, Maria Taylor, M Ward, Gillian Welch, Gus Seyffert, Pearl Charles, Nathaniel Walcott, and Jonathan Wilson.

Salutations includes full band versions of the ten songs from Ruminations, plus seven additional songs, some from an additional session at Five Star Studios in Echo Park in fall 2016 (complete track list below). Oberst, with The Felice Brothers as his backing band, will tour in celebration of Salutations beginning March 9 in his hometown of Omaha, with stops at LA’s Greek Theater in May and Celebrate Brooklyn Festival in July (full schedule below). Oberst has partnered with Plus 1 so that $1 from every ticket sold will go to support Planned Parenthood and their work delivering vital reproductive health care, sex education, and information to millions of women, men, and young people in the US and worldwide.

Pre-orders of Salutations at iTunes and the Nonesuch store will come with immediate downloads of “A Little Uncanny,” “Tachycardia,” and “Napalm.” For a limited time, pre-orders at also include an exclusive print autographed by Conor Oberst.

A video for “A Little Uncanny,” directed by Josh Rawson (The Felice Brothers), may be viewed here.

Oberst says of the Salutations sessions: “Jim was really the captain of the ship and the spiritual leader of the project. We leaned heavy on his fifty-plus years of musical insight to get us to where we needed to be. He brought such depth and dignity to the proceedings that made everyone else involved rise to the occasion. It was a true stroke of luck that he got involved when he did.”

Conor Oberst Tour Dates:


27        Sydney, AUS @ Sydney Opera House


9          Omaha, NE @ The Waiting Room Lounge

10        Kansas City, MO @ Madrid Theater

11        Memphis, TN @ Minglewood Hall

12        Tulsa, OK @ Cain’s Ballroom

14        San Antonio, TX @ Paper Tiger

16        Spicewood, TX  @ Luck Reunion

17        Houston, TX @ Warehouse Live

18        New Orleans, LA @ The Civic Theatre

19        Macon, GA @ Cox Capitol Theatre

21        Asheville, NC @ The Orange Peel

22        Chattanooga, TN @ Track 29

23        Atlanta, GA @ Variety Playhouse

24        McMinnville, TN @ Bluegrass Underground

25        St Louis, MO @ The Pageant

26        Iowa City, IA @ The Englert Theater


12        Oakland, CA @ The Fox

13        Los Angeles, CA @ The Greek Theater

19        Austin, TX @ ACL Live at The Moody Theater


14-16   Louisville, KY @ Forecastle Festival

20        Brooklyn, NY @ Celebrate Brooklyn

21        Boston, MA @ The House of Blues

March dates go on sale starting January 21 at noon EST

May and July dates go on sale starting January 27 at noon EST

Salutations Track List:

1. Too Late To Fixate                            10. Tachycardia

2. Gossamer Thin                                11. Empty Hotel By The Sea

3. Overdue                                          12. Anytime Soon

4. Afterthought                                    13. Counting Sheep

5. Next Of Kin                                      14. Rain Follows The Plow

6. Napalm                                           15. You All Loved Him Once

7. Mamah Borthwick                             16. A Little Uncanny

8. Till Saint Dymphna’s Kicks Us Out      17. Salutations

9. Barbary Coast

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

SKULLCRUSHER Releases Two New Tracks: “Farm” b/w A Cover Of Radiohead’s “Lift”

When Helen Ballentine – who records as Skullcrusher – released her debut EP, a collection of four impressive and …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.