Peter M Smith & Lax ‘n’ Busto Release ‘High’ on February 24th

Irish chart-topper Peter M Smith, who is poised to make his epic breakthrough in the UK, releases his new single High on February 24 as a taster of his forthcoming debut album Upon This Rock. Listen here

This explosive chunky strummer of a track about the mood-elevating power of carnal lust shows Smith is on the verge of greatness and on course to replicate the success the Dublin-born rocker is already enjoying at home.

Peter M Smith says of the track: “High is an important record for me. I get to work with a legendary band that I am a fan of, Lax ‘n’ Busto. This is one of my favourite songs that I’ve written for this album. People are gonna enjoy the collaboration with a great Spanish band too.”

Raised on artists of the calibre of U2, Queen, Led Zeppelin and Jimi Hendrix,Smith has been writing songs since the tender age of just 12. He has channelled the energy of these classic influences and combined it with his own signature raw power-rock, honing it to perfection across his energising debut album due for release in May.

Primal, ballsy riffs and layers of hard-rocking, crunching chords are spread large across the 11 tracks, laced with Smith’s singular heartfelt, spleneticrock-soul vocals. The songs range from a dark examination of the anguish of tormented artists (Rough Diamonds) to his tribute to the rowdiness and excess of London’s East End (Requiem For Fighting), as well as a cover of Nirvana’s Territorial Pissings.

Speaking about his new release Peter M Smith explains he is “keeping things simple and just writing about what is happening on a personal level at the time. I’m not one to keep a diary; these songs are my personal account of what is going on at any given time“.

The full tracklisting of Upon This Rock is:

  1. Speak No Evil

  2. High

  3. Rockstar

  4. Requiem for Fighting

  5. Rough Diamonds

  6. Song for Leah

  7. Alright Now

  8. Free Lover’s Disco

  9. Avenge the Maybes

  10. Felony

  11. Territorial Pissings

Showcasing his talent and building his reputation as a superstar-in-waiting with gigs around Europe, Smithrecently toured the UK with former Motörhead star Phil Campbell And The Bastard Sons.

Peter M Smith releases the single High on February 24, followed by the album Upon This Rock on May 1.

For more on Peter M Smith:

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also


Tampon Rock follows the dating foibles of the two lead lesbian characters – Deja and …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.