German Blues-Rock Duo THE PICTUREBOOKS to Release New Album, Home is a Heartache, on March 10 via Another Century Records

Primal blues-rock duo The Picturebooks are excited to announce the release of their new album, Home is a Heartache, on March 10, 2017 via Another Century Records. The German duo — featuring Fynn Claus Grabke [vocals, guitar] and Philipp Mirtschink [drums] — performs enticing blues-saturated heavy rock, with Fynn playing on obscure vintage guitars he bought from thrift shops around the world, while Philipp beats a drum set that consists of the largest possible drums that he hits with heavy duty felt beaters. The set has no cymbals whatsoever and instead includes a few self-made percussion instruments with huge chains, bells, and more.

The Picturebooks explain, “We toured our first album Imaginary Horse for more than two years straight with multiple runs in Europe and America — we traveled endless miles in small beat up tour vans on never-ending highways, and lived out of hotels, couches, and sometimes, just the back of our van. When we finally returned home, music started pouring out of us and we finished writing, recording and mixing Home is a Heartache in our garage in just a few months. To us it symbolizes this journey we’re on and the music we want to spread, giving it our everything every day and every night. Some of the song titles say it all: “On These Roads I’ll Die,” “Wardance,” “I Need That Oooh,” “Inner Demons,” “I Came A Long Way For You,” and “Home Is A Heartache.”

Home is a Heartache will serve as the band’s sophomore release and Another Century label-debut. The 14-track album was recorded in the band’s garage, where they regularly refurbish and repair motorcycles and choppers. The album captures a raw, rich, and real energy befitting of the room’s natural reverb, industrial aura, and spiritual spark. Pre-orders for Home is a Heartache begin on January 27, 2017.

1. Seen Those Days
2. Wardance
3. Home Is A Heartache
4. Fire Keeps Burning
5. On These Roads I’ll Die
6. I Need That Oooh
7. The Murderer
8. Zero Fucks Given
9. Cactus
10. I Came A Long Way For You
11. Get Gone
12. Bad Habits Die Hard
13. Heathen Love
14. Inner Demons

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Sam Fender Shares “Back To Black” Live Cover Recording

Sam Fender is pleased to share a stark, raw and heartfelt recording of Alan Hull …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.