Home / News / Celebrated Roots Rocker JJ Shiplett Delivers “Something To Believe In” January 27th

Celebrated Roots Rocker JJ Shiplett Delivers “Something To Believe In” January 27th

Calgary singer songwriter and roots rocker JJ Shiplett is gearing up for a breakthrough year with his full length debut album “Something to Believe In”.  The 11 track album is set for release on Friday, January 27 and will be available both physically and digitally in Canada via HALO Entertainment Group/Warner Music Canada and digitally in the U.S. via HALO Entertainment Group.  The album is available for pre-order beginning today HERE. Fan’s that pre-order “Something To Believe In” will instantly receive downloads for the album’s first single, “Darling Let’s Go Out Tonight” and the title track “Something To Believe In” – both of which audiences fell in love with on Shiplett’s previously released EP, aptly titled “The E.P.”.

Listen to the instant grat tracks “Darling, Let’s Go Out Tonight” and “Something to Believe In” HERE.

Recorded in Toronto and Nashville, the soulful and emotive collection of songs on “Something To Believe In” perfectly showcases the Alberta-born Shiplett’s passion and reverence for the art of music and performance. It’s aesthetically minded and stubbornly unyielding, while at the heart, the self-penned LP combines honest lyricism with Shiplett’s impressive vocal range and effortlessly tracks the last two years of his story.

Shiplett recently shared new music with The Strombo Show where he was invited to perform at the ‘House Of Strombo’ and share his clear-eyed story with respected host George Stroumboulopoulos.  Tune into The Strombo Show on January 29 to hear the two song performance and interview.

Last November, Shiplett recorded an invitation only performance special at Calgary’s Studio Bell in the National Music Centre. Fans can WATCH the live performance of “Darling Let’s Go Out Tonight”, filmed during that extraordinary night HERE.  Hometown fans in Calgary can look forward to catching Shiplett on Shaw TV (Channel 10) as part of The Beach Session series later this month (check local listings for the full schedule) or visit HERE.

Shiplett will embark on a series of Canadian tour dates throughout 2017, beginning this February in Alberta.  For complete tour details visit www.jjshiplettmusic.com.


1.      Something to Believe In

2.      Sorrow

3.      Higher Ground

4.      Darling, Let’s Go Out Tonight

5.      Waters

6.      Oh No Girl

7.      Seeking Shelter

8.      Loaded Like A Freight Train

9.      Am I Dear

10.  House On A River

11.  Always For You


February 10 – Calgary, AB – Calgary Folk Festival Block Heater (Alexandra Dance Hall)

February 11 – Grande Prairie, AB – Big Hearts for Big Kids Fundraiser

February 12 – Calgary, AB – Calgary Folk Festival Block Heater (Festival Hall)

June 26 – Timmins, ON – Stars and Thunder Festival

For more information and the latest news on JJ Shiplett visit:




About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

LUKE TEMPLE Premieres New Song “Empty Promises”

Luke Temple is sharing “Empty Promises,” another track off his forthcoming new album Both-And, today. Luke shared his inspirations …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.