Home / News / Fort Worth supergroup, Un Chien, to release sophomore LP on Hand Drawn Records

Fort Worth supergroup, Un Chien, to release sophomore LP on Hand Drawn Records

Hand Drawn Records is thrilled to announce the release of a 10-track LP “Where We Belong,” on Friday, Jan. 13. The Fort Worth-based quintet will celebrate the release in the form of an album release party the following evening, Saturday, Jan. 14, at Lola’s Saloon with good friends, Fort Worth’s War Party (Dreamy Life Records) and Cut Throat Finches (Hand Drawn Records). Doors open at 8 p.m. with live music beginning at 9 p.m. Tickets range from $8 to $10 and can be purchased here. Lola’s Saloon is located at 2736 W. 6th Street, Fort Worth, Texas 76107.

The five-piece psych-rock band Un Chien consists of bassist Taylor Craig, vocalist Stephen Beatty, keyboardist Kris Knight, guitarist/background vocalist Rachel Gollay and drummer Jerrett Lyday. In pursuit of a more experimental sound, band leader Stephen Beatty left the long-running rock band, Stella Rose to assemble a group of like-minded musicians. After a stellar independent release of their debut EP in the spring of 2013, the band was signed to Dallas-based record label Hand Drawn Records.

Heavily influenced by the psychedelic styling of ’60s rock and blues, to the brooding shoegaze and grunge eras to craft a sound all their own, the super group quickly garnered attention as one of North Texas’ most exciting live acts. Their self-titled debut resulted in several local award wins and nominations, including Fort Worth Weekly‘s “Indie Rock Album of the Year,” vocalist Rachel Gollay‘s personal win for “Best Female Vocal Performance” in 2014 and have followed up with numerous nominations since 2015 and 2016.

“…it was very cathartic for me, reflecting on a long distance relationship and the ending of that relationship,” said Stephen Beatty.

Un Chien‘s sophomore record, “Where We Belong,” recorded to analog tape in its entirety at Deep Ellum’s all-analog studio, Ferralog Recording Studios with producer Nathan Adamson. With principle songwriter Stephen Beatty on lead vocals, award-winning female vocalist Rachel Gollay on background vocals and lead guitar, storied singer/songwriter Taylor Craig Mills on bass guitar, Kris Knight on keys and Jerrett Lyday on percussion, the Fort Worth, Texas supergroup channeled heavy psych-rock and 60s guitar-pop influences to provide a refreshingly energetic take on a typically heady genre.

For more information on psychedelic rock unit Un Chien, please visit http://www.unchien.net/. To purchase the band’s new record “Where We Belong,” visit  http://www.handdrawnrecords.com/shop .

For more information on Hand Drawn Records or Hand Drawn Pressing, please visit www.handdrawnrecords.com/press-vinyl.

Track Listing:

1. “Slow” (2:49)

2. “Stranger Things” (4:19)

3. “Amarillo” (3:51)

4. “Never Coming Back” (5:07)

5. “Beautiful Day” (3:30)

6. “She’s Got It All” (2:32)

7. “The Way She Goes” (3:57)

8. “Do You Know Who I Am?” (3:58)

9. “I Won’t Die Alone” (2:42)

10. “Where We Belong” (6:21)

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Alexander Biggs Shares New Song “Madeleine”

Alexander Biggs has shared a new single “Madeleine.” Described as an observational piece, the song is an amalgamation …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.