Acclaimed New Ambient-Folk Duo ReleaseDebut UK Single ‘Horse to Water’

US progressive folk duo Tall Heights have release Horse to Water as the first single to be lifted from their debut major label LP Neptune, out March 2017 on Sony Music Masterworks. Watch here

The track is a perfect introduction to the band, showcasing their hallmark warming and emotive soundscape as well as their distinctive dimensional harmonies. It is little wonder that US media including the Wall Street Journal have drawn comparisons to artists such as Simon & Garfunkel, Sigur Ros and Bon Iver.

The multi-talented singer songwriters, composers, and instrumentalists featuring Paul Wright on cello/vocals and Tim Harrington on acoustic guitar/vocals got their start busking on the streets of Boston, growing up in a neighboring town in Massachusetts. Neptune as an album is a far lusher construct than those early acoustic days — along with pristine and emotive vocal harmonies, there’s subtly chugging electric guitar and a spare descending bassline on “Iron in the Fire,” ethereal synthesizers and a spacious drum part on “Spirit Cold,” a brittle splash of percussion to open “Backwards and Forwards” and feedback created by two cellphones on “Cross My Mind.

Tall Heights made their UK live debut recently, performing a packed headline show at London’s The Slaughtered Lamb, as well as supporting Newton Faulkner at the iconic Union Chapel to a great reception.

Track listing
1. ​Iron in the Fire
2. Spirit Cold
3. River Wider
4. No Man Alive
5. The Runaway
6. Infrared
7. Horse to Water
8. Backwards and Forwards
9. Two Blue Eyes
10. Cross My Mind
11. Growing
12. Wayfarers

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Listen to Dezron Douglas & Brandee Younger Cover The Stylistics | New Album Out 12/4 on International Anthem

Bassist Dezron Douglas and harpist Brandee Younger will release their debut album as a duo, Force Majeure, this Friday on International Anthem. Today, they present new …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.