Daddy,formed by the duo James Franco and Tim O’Keefe,reveal the film that accompanies their 10-song debut album Let Me Get What I Want HERE. The Franco-produced film can be viewed as an hour-long artwork, or as individual music videos for all of the album’s songs. The film has no “beginning” or “end” point, it works like a loop (i.e. the “last” video, or video 10, connects to the first video, video 1, seamlessly). The film stars Palo Alto High School students, and edited in a Lynchian style reminiscent of Twin Peaks.

The Smiths’ Andy Rourke plays bass on a few Let Me Get What I Want tracks. A limited edition double, dark pink gatefold vinyl is available, alongside a 16 page 10” colour booklet consisting of drawings by James Franco that correspond to each song and a signed postcard. You can buy the album (limited edition vinyl, cd, digital) HERE via We Are Daddy / KOBALT.

Daddy encompass music, film and installation art into a multimedia experience; “Let Me Get What I Want is a concept album & filmthat tracks three characters as they weave through the dark ways of high school: love, death, and dreams.”

James recently published a book of poetry called Directing Herbert White: Poems. Two sections in that book are called “Poems Inspired by Smiths’ Songs” and are a series of poems loosely based on people Jamesknew at Palo Alto High School; each poem sharing the title of The Smiths’ song that inspired it. James and Tim discussed the poems and their love of the Smiths. They soon decided to use these poems to create the new songs for their album. James discussed the process in his VICE column HERE.

James Franco said about the earlier revealed track “You Are Mine” HERE: “High school is a time of longing for the unattainable. We dream big, but we’re still too young to make anything significant happen. At least I was too immature and sensitive to be the person I wanted to be. “You are mine” is about one teenager dreaming about another, even though they’ll never be together,” and Tim O’Keefe added “Transforming James‘ poems to songs took on it’s own creative process which was a new direction for me.  Because the words weren’t written by me, I had to take on the character of the individual whose perspective I was singing from.  You Are Mine like many of the songs on Let Me Get What I Want expresses experiences that were relatable to my own high school experience, and therefore I had a lot of my own emotions to pull from.”

Daddy –
Let Me Get What I Want – album HERE
Let Me Get What I Want – film HERE
01. I’m A Sword Swallower
02. Lime Green Dress
03. Gentle But You Weren’t
04. Car Ride Home
05. I Think That I Loved Him
06. On The Sideline
07. I Am All These Things
08. Graduation Day
09. You Are Mine
10. Now I Stand Alone

Follow Daddy:

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

MADDOX JONES Releases Uplifting “World’s Gone Mad”

Rising UK singer-songwriter Maddox Jones follows up his debut EP (Headspace) with a heartwarming new single, “World’s …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.