The Y Axes share new single “Monsters” | New LP out 11/26

After five years of lineup changes and other challenges, San Francisco, CA-based indie-pop-rock group The Y Axes took the beginning of 2016 to tease their most fully realized vision to date. Having already shared soaring, cosmic alt-rock bangers in “Patch Me Up” and “Great Escape,” the band now announces the Umbra LP set for release on November 26th, 2016. Listen here

The Y Axes were formed in 2010 by Alexi Rose Belchere (vocals) and Devin Nelson (guitar/vocals/synths) as a side project to the other bands they were in at the time. After years of dropping DIY releases and adding and dropping members, the band finally arrived at its current iteration with Jack Sundquist (bass) and Nick Schneider (drums) rounding out the latest iteration of the quartet.

“An Umbra is the point of total obscuration in a shadow or eclipse, which while dark, can only be produced by a bright light, shares Nelson. “Our music has always had elements of light and dark, balancing between being fun and upbeat while being simultaneously solemn and melancholic.”

You can stream Penumbra, featuring the first four singles off of Umbra here. Look for more from The Y Axes soon.

The Y Axes links:

Website // Facebook // Twitter // Instagram // Soundcloud // Bandcamp // Youtube

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also


Tampon Rock follows the dating foibles of the two lead lesbian characters – Deja and …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.