2MR To Release “Harsh Riddims 2013-2016” compilation on November 4, 2016

On November 4, 2016, 2MR will release Harsh Riddims 2013 – 2016, a compilation that can almost be coined a “Best Of” from the esteemed label. That one label (2MR) is releasing a best-of compilation of another label’s work is not the only item of note with this forthcoming album. This will mark the first time all of these tracks will be available on vinyl – previously they could only be found on cassette or download. Further, Harsh Riddims 2013 – 2016 will feature unreleased tracks from Cringe Machine as well as a TWINS remix of a Love Letters song. An interview between Harsh Riddims’ Ryan Parks and 2MR’s Mike Simonetti (and vice versa) make up the liner notes and the labels will be throwing parties in NYC and Atlanta to celebrate the release!

Harsh Riddims, based in Atlanta, GA, has been written about in, among other magazines, The New Yorker and The Wire in pieces that highlight both the label as well as Atlanta’s place in 2016’s music landscape. Harsh Riddims 2013 – 2016 features the up and coming artist REKchampa (aka Stefan Ringer) and his single “Rood Style Taped Out” and WGM‘s “Turn” whose latest single (as Cities Aviv) “Melanin Drop” was coined a “Best New Track” by Pitchfork.  The full track listing is below.

To celebrate the release of Harsh Riddims 2013 – 2016 2MR will be hosting multiple parties including an intimate show in an artist loft in Atlanta on October 29 (info here) and in New York City at Elvis Guesthouse on November 4 (info here). The parties will feature REKchampa (Stefan Ringer), Cities Aviv, TWINS, Divine Interface, Love Letters, Bluntfang and Fit of Body. More dates are still to be confirmed.

Harsh Riddims 2013 – 2016 Tracklisting

1. Co/Coaches – Thought of yr Gaze (Calling Me)

2. Cringe Machine – All the Same [UNRELEASED]

3. Ramzi – Free Houti

4. Divine Interface – A House Divided

5. B L A C K I E – Hot Livin’N Tha South

6. Love Letters – Nag

7. TWINS – No Effort No Reward

8. REKchampa – Rood Style Taped Out

9. ThinkThrice – Around Earth

10. WGM – Turn

11. Love Letters – Nag (TWINS’s ‘can we?’ Mix) (Digital Bonus) [UNRELEASED]

Pre-order Harsh Riddims 2013-2016 here.

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Nostalgix Secures the Bag With Potent Bass House Single “The Plug” on IN / ROTATION

Nostalgix reups on another release on Insomniac’s IN / ROTATION imprint, only this time she’s …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.