Home / News / Wyclef Jean Releases New Video For “Hendrix/Life Matters”

Wyclef Jean Releases New Video For “Hendrix/Life Matters”

Today, WorldStar Hip Hop unveils Wyclef Jean’s new video for “Hendrix/Life Matters,” written by Wyclef and Kid Art, directed by Kid Art, and produced by Cartier Brown with Jay and Q from WorldStar Hip Hop. The video is the first part of a 12-minute short film starring actors Michael K. Williams (The Wire, The Night Of), Tasha Smith (Empire) as well as newcomer, T.J. Riley, to be released soon. “”Hendrix/Life Matters” is about reminding young people that no matter their circumstances or influences, they always have a choice,” says Wyclef, “If His Life Matters, then Her Life Matters. And, If Human Rights Matter then Black lives should Matter.”

“Hendrix” appears on the highly anticipated J’ouvert, meaning the official start of Carnival, and comes in advance of a full length album aptly titled Carnival III: Road To Clefication dropping next summer on the 20th anniversary of Wyclef’s critically acclaimed debut The Carnival. The LP has already created quite a buzz with confirmed appearances from Young Thug, Walk The Moon Afrojack, Emeli Sandé and multiplatinum DJ/recording artist Avicii.

Wyclef is known for his wealth of musical influences from jazz to classic rock to reggae. With his critically acclaimed, Grammy nominated debut The Carnival, he launched himself as a producer and solo artist whose work drew from elements of pop, country, folk, disco, Latin, and electronic music. As a solo artist, Wyclef Jean has released six albums that have sold nearly nine million copies worldwide, including 1997’s The Carnival and 2000’s The Ecleftic: 2 Sides II a Book.


1. I swear

2. Holding on the Edge

3. For Her Man

4. Little Things

5. Party Started

Bonus Tracks:

1. Hendrix

2. If I was President Remix


About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Sludge Releases His Second Bone-Chilling Track “Emergency” on Heavyweight Records

The newest bomb from Carnage’s Heavyweight Records comes from up-and-comer Sludge in the form of his single “Emergency,” and it’s …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.