Home / News / Zebuel Announces Release Date for River City Sunset (10/14/16), Releases New Single & More!

Zebuel Announces Release Date for River City Sunset (10/14/16), Releases New Single & More!

Bay Area DJ/Producer/Musician, ZEBUEL (aka Zebuel Early), is excited to announce the official release date of his new album, River City Sunset. The collection will be released on October 14, 2016 on Smoked Out Soul Records in conjunction with Mixto Music and Love Haight Records. The album will also be available through all major digital retailers and services on release date. Additional information, including track listing can be found below!

To celebrate the album, ZEBUEL is releasing a new track “The Lights” ft. CharlestheFirst

This first single off the new record comes roaring out of the gate with the feel of a dusty 70’s funk classic and soon launches into the stratosphere as a modern day future funk banger. It’s fresh, hard hitting, laced with analog synths, classic samples and organic instruments. The tune was coproduced by Lake Tahoe-based producer CharlestheFirst and features ZEBUEL on guitar and Will Magid on trumpet. It was recorded at SOS studios in San Francisco and mixed at Jingletown Recordings in Oakland.

ZEBUEL first premiered “The Lights” at Burning Man’s Camp Questionmark, igniting the crowd like the flames blazing around him, just as Diplo and Skrillex would do on the same stage in the hours to come.

Good luck trying to classify River City Sunset. The album is a hybrid of styles and genres. It’s Memphis meets California, a sort of space age blues record, like if B.B. King and Three Six Mafia flew to Jamaica to record a movie soundtrack in 1975. The album is chill yet upbeat. ZEBUEL blends analog G-Funk-era synthesizers and modern day beats with reggae bass lines, organic horns and soulful guitar, creating a sound that is both classic and futuristic.

“This album is meant to be a true representation of my life, influences and personality,” says Zeb. “I came up in the south on classic rock and blues records before moving to Colorado and eventually California. I’ve been influenced by West Coast bass music and the live music scenes equally, and it shows in my music. My aim is to provide an experience that will bring joy and ignite a party at the same time. I record and use samples of rivers in Tahoe, waves crashing on Pacific beaches, crickets and frogs in the redwoods and random sounds from the city. I combine production techniques with the skills of some of my favorite musicians to bless the record with a natural feel. Sam Ravenna plays bass, Teddy Raven is on Sax, Will Magid on Trumpet, Todd Holway on keys with two tracks co-produced by my friend CharlestheFirst.”

The album was produced by Zebuel, co-mixed by Phil Jahns at Green Day’s Jingletown Studios and mastered by Don Grossinger (Jay-Z, Missy Elliot, Run DMC, Ghostface Killah, The Rolling Stones, The Flaming Lips, Brian Wilson.)

River City Sunset Track Listing

1. The Lights ft. CharlestheFirst

2. Angel Island at Dusk

3. Silkworm

4. Open Up Your Mind

5. Rewind Selectah

6. Midnight Drive

7. Jungle Spank Strut

8. Clear Blue Sky

9. I Need Your Loving So Bad

10. Leaves ft. CharlestheFirst

11. Leanin Back [BONUS TRACK]

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also


Los Angeles’ 411 Music Group has released the single “Deep Pulse Extraction” by UK based …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.