The 30th Anniversary LP edition of Beastie Boys’ debut album Licensed To Ill  will be released on October 14 via Def Jam/Universal Music Canada.  This special reissue was cut from the original production masters and is presented on 180 gram heavyweight vinyl.

Produced by Rick Rubin and Beastie Boys, Licensed To Ill was originally released November 15, 1986–making the B Boys the fifth artist to release a full length album on the original Def Jam label after LL Cool J, Slayer, Tashan and Oran “Juice” Jones.

“The Breakthrough of ‘Licensed To Ill’ in 1986 paved the road legitimizing Rap to its USA masses, and set the barometer worldwide on the genre album format. This record also expanded Hip Hop diversity allowing Public Enemy’s ‘It Takes A Nation…’ to be its antithesis.” — Chuck D, Public Enemy

Licensed To Ill continues to loom large on the all-time greatest albums lists of Rolling Stone, QPitchfork, NME and various other forums for people to argue in comments sections. Virtually every track on the album was a hit single or fan favourite, including “Hold It Now, Hit It,” “The New Style,” “Paul Revere,” “Brass Monkey,” “(You Gotta) Fight For Your Right (To Party),” “No Sleep Till Brooklyn” and more.

Licensed To Ill was the first hip hop album ever to top the Billboard 200 and has been certified RIAA Diamond in the U.S. in 2015 for more than 10 million album sales.


  1. Rhymin & Stealin’

  2. The New Style

  3. She’s Crafty

  4. Posse in Effect

  5. Slow Ride

  6. Girls

  7. (You Gotta) Fight for Your Right (To Party)

  8. No Sleep till Brooklyn

  9. Paul Revere

  10. Hold It Now, Hit It

  11. Brass Monkey

  12. Slow and Low

  13. Time to Get Ill

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Alice Ray shares new single ‘Why Is It We Fight Like This’

London singer-songwriter Alice Ray has shared her new single, ‘Why Is It We Fight Like …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.